Help re-develop an old mill near the village of Vila Nova de Cerveira, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi

    I am Eric, I am a French man that have traveled the world from Amazonas jungle to the high seas. A few months ago I walked the Portugiese Camino thru Portugal. At the very north of Portugal I walked past a over grown plot of land with a old mill on and a river going close by. It was over grown and abandoned for 60 years. I feel in love with the land and found a very strong energy from it. I completed my Camino and came back and bought the plot of land. I want to build a special place to recharge peoples souls. Now I have cleared the the plot of most of the trees and taken out all the dirt. next step is to start with the roof and then the interior. I also want to make a big garden for juices.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn about developing and restoration of a stone building and gardening.

  • Help

    Help

    The help will be involving lending a hand round the property. Like diging and moving soil. It also can include tasks on scaffolding to clean the inside of the old mill. And if you have knowledge of construction and permaculture you would be very interested to share your knowledge. At the moment there's a lot of construction and general help.

    Also I would like to have someone to prepare lunches for us at the mill in the morning and in the afternoon help around the garden when it's up and running.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a house about 10 min drive from my project. The accommodation is shared with me and other volunteers. You would have a room with bunk beds shared with other volunteers. There is a shared bathroom and shower. In the house there is a big kitchen and a patio with a nice view.

    I have room for three volunteers at the time.
    We will go to Spain on a weekly basis and make a big shop (cheaper) So if you have anything special you want we can pick it up then. There is also a supermarket just down the road.

    I will provide food for breakfast. For lunch we go back to the house or have them at the mill. Dinners we will take turns making at the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport connections: Express buses from Porto and Spain there is also Train service from Vigo and Porto. takes about 2h from Porto and about 40 min from Vigo.

    The village of Vila Nova de Cerveira is very close and has bars, restaurants, library and pharmacy.
    every Saturday there is a market in the village. There is also a nice path along the river that you can go for a walk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5/6 hours a day, 5-6 days a week (max 25 hours/week)


Host ref number: 192139923384