Work in contact with nature and help maintain a historic home and a park in Toscana and Liguria, Italy



Favourited 638 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We have been hosting via the workaway platform for six years and have met people from all over the world and of all ages; some became friends and came back to visit us. What we want to achieve is a harmonious collaboration in compliance with the rules and with moments of leisure and cultural exchange, so to avoid misunderstandings or unpleasant moments, I INVITE YOU TO CAREFULLY READ MY PROFILE, THE TYPE OF HELP REQUIRED, THE CONDITIONS.
    My family: my name is Cecilia, I am a freelancer my husband is a teacher, we have two children who help us in this project; an elderly cat and a young dog also live with us.
    We live in a historic residence of great charm dating back to 1700. THE GARDEN IS VERY LARGE, YOU CAN LIVE IN NATURE AND BE CLOSE TO THE CITY (500 METERS)
    Our project: it is to complete the renovation of the house, to restore the furniture, to move the furniture, to tidy up the gardens by cutting the grass and pruning.
    We welcome volunteers who are enthusiastic, energetic, honest and nature-loving and not fearful of intense physical work to help us maintain the home and the property that surrounds it.
    We need the help of a person who has experience in manual work and who is precise at work, with experience in gardening, in general maintenance, in cleaning the house.
    You are expected to know how to properly use a broom, dust and pay attention to cleaning jobs around the house.
    we also greatly appreciate people who know how to clean the house well, iron, do DIY jobs such as lining drawers with paper, painting furniture etc.
    The helper we are looking for is a TIGHT person: no tools left behind, your spaces kept CLEAN and tidy, no international hostel dorm atmosphere with a bunch of stuff around the house,
    READ CAREFULLY: the assistant will have the obligation to always keep his room and the spaces he uses clean and tidy, this is part of his duty outside working hours. So write only if you are sure you can respect this rule.
    Sorry, we don't need photography or website. we don't need babysitting.
    We cannot accommodate families. We cannot accommodate people with addiction problems

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a historic house where important local sculptors lived in the 18th century. the villa is surrounded by a large expanse of land with olive trees and other trees. roe deer, foxes and eagles often come to visit us. In the garden you can run, walk, play sports, yoga or meditation and there are benches where you can read or rest.
    The place is very quiet, it is located between Liguria and Tuscany so you can easily visit the tourist resorts of Tuscany such as Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena and Liguria such as the Gulf of Poets, the Cinque Terre, Genoa.
    Near the house there is a bus station and the train station is 4 km away.
    We have mountains where you can hike for all levels.
    In 5 minutes on foot you can reach the city center, where there are monuments, the Academy of Fine Arts, the swimming pool and gyms. The sea and the beach are only 7 km away.
    I have posted photos of what you can find around and will be very happy to give you information on other places to see.
    At home you can consult a large library of books in Italian and many books talk about painting and sculpture and have many images. if you like I can tell you the history of these places.

  • Help


    There are many gardening jobs that could suit people with previous experience and will involve a variety of roles including tidying up, planting, adding a vegetable garden, cutting olive trees, removing and replanting plants, raking, till the soil, digging and so on.
    Here is an example of the tasks to be done: all kinds of general maintenance, whitewashed walls, moving furniture, extra cleaning, furniture care and some minor restorations; in the garden: weeding, cutting hedges, cutting down small trees and bushes, cutting wood, storing wood, repairing fences.
    We also have interior and exterior painting and some jobs that might suit someone with more experience, such as plastering, woodworking.There is also availability for person to do other jobs including general house maintenance, cleaning, iron, chores and general care.
    Although people generally work 5 hours a day from Monday to Friday.
    Previous workers have chosen to work longer hours on certain days and have extra days off, including long weekends, or work on Saturdays and have a different day off. When you are not working you are completely free to do whatever you want and you will have plenty of time to relax and explore the area.
    DIGITAL NOMADS are welcome, we have already hosted people who in their free time did their job as digital nomads (online lessons, graphics, etc.)

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The bedroom is private. the bathroom and kitchen are shared.
    In one of the apartments where you will have your room and the shared spaces (in Toscana) also live the students, our tenants, who come from all over the world to study at the Academy of Fine Arts.
    it is possible that during your stay we will also move to another house in Liguria, where you will always have your private room.
    you will cook your meals independently, I have experienced that this makes you freer in your times and needs (vegans, vegetarians, etc.). we agree on a weekly sum for the purchase of your food independently.
    Every now and then we organize a dinner together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    COME with proper work clothing (closed shoes, long pants etc, please ... and remember that everyone's priority is always to work safely (we will provide goggles, gloves, ear protection etc).
    You need to have an E111 or you own medical/travel insurance. You are responsible for and of your own health care costs. I will ask for copy of your Passport and I.D. etc.
    Part of the work is pretty physical and requires resistance, so keep in mind that we are counting on your physical health.
    We are very relaxed at home, but we want respect for our home and our properties
    I like to keep my privacy and I will respect yours too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.1)

Cultural exchange: (4.2)

Communication: (4.1)

Host ref number: 373479437813