Help me in the garden in return for lovely food and accommodation in the midi pyrenees.

Country

France

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My house is situated two hours from Toulouse, and an hour from Rodez. The nearest village to our hamlet is St andre de Najac which has a shop, restaurant and English/French pub and some tennis courts (should you be in training). The nearest town is Ville Franche, which has a weekly market and in Najac (which is 5km there is often has music, fetes, brocantes, and other social events such as a night market.

    The house is in a beautiful stone built turn of the centuary barn that we have been steadily renovating for 7 yrs. its tricky fitting in earning a living and bringing up kids, so its been slow progress. Its situated in a peaceful and wild hamlet with 4 other houses. We are half way down a a valley which is a wooded gorge with a river at the bottom. Around us are wild boar, deer, buzzards and donkeys. We have amazing starry nights and electric storms that you can watch from the sofa on my veranda, whilst being lulled to sleep by the crickets.

    I'm a divorced English lady with three teenage daughters, lots of cats, 2 dogs and 5 horses and a chicken that thinks its a dog called Emma. I need help with renovating my barn, landscaping and caring for the land and garden.

    we speak mainly English and French, so can help you aquiring either or laugh at you in both. I'm a great cook (I'm busy establishing a business selling Indian food) and will offer food and accommodation, riding, card games, English tv, music and general hilarity in exchange for 5 hrs of work Mon-Fri.

    There are lots of outdoor activities available in the surrounding areas (canoeing, climbing, swimming and cycling etc). The house is within walking of a swim-able river (there's a kind of beach) and cafe during the summer months (well the river is always there).

    We're a friendly, generally easy going bunch. Theres some teenage stroppage (mainly from me!) but generally we're a lively talkative family who are happy for you to join us or spend your time on your own.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    i need to clear the land of brambles and establish a garden/ terrace it and build stone walls and clear reestablish a natural freshwater pond. plasterboarding, pointing, putting in windows, painting and decorating, carpentry, general building and maintenance. I will/can help/teach you what to do in some cases but it would be good if you had some experience/skill in these areas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will have your own room in our family home, i'll provide bedding, towels, you will be sharing the shower, bath and toilet. we have space/parking for a car, or bike or truck/live in vehicle or if you want to camp there's space for that too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    i know other people with whom there are possibilities for exchanges. i am also a trained homeopath and experienced in natural horsemanship

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs max a day


Host ref number: 599149434759