Try whale watching from the kitchen as you help with yard work,maintenance, and projects around the house, in Pahoa, Hawaii

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 235 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    716

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm an optimistic momma of two amazing boys. I'm passionate about yoga, adventures, and learning new things. Generally, I'm pretty laid back. I'm very social and I enjoy talking to people.

    I need general help around my home with miscellaneous projects that will vary depending on the day. This month, I hope to pull up some linoleum, stain my concrete floors, build a shelf for an AC unit, and run new Cat5 cable into my house. I regularly need help with day to day chores, general yard and house maintenance such as weed-wacking, deep-cleaning, pulling weeds, etc.

    We would absolutely love to learn about your language and culture during your stay. We are very active and make a point to go somewhere for a walk or adventure almost every day (even if it's just a quick trip to Kehena Beach or a short drive to tidepools at sunset).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Location, location, location, check out this view!
    We love to go on excursions as a family and we'd be happy to take you along to beaches, hikes, etc. Although our schedule varies each day, we try to get outside at least once per day.
    A cultural experience like no other in the funky and eclectic town of Pahoa
    whale watching from the living room (when it's not whale season, you can watch the waves and occasional dolphins). The star gazing is phenomenal.

    We're in a remote location where cell service doesn't exist. You can truly unplug, and connect with nature. Our WiFi works well.

  • Help

    Help

    When you message me, please include your travel dates and describe your tangible skills.Please let me know what experience you have and if you have any references or past workaway reviews.

    I primarily need help with general maintenance, deep-cleaning, and yardwork.

    Prior to hosting someone, I like to do a video call to talk through questions and ensure that we will be a good host/traveler fit. WhatsApp is my preference, but I also use Facebook Messenger, Google Hangouts, or Skype.

    Ideally, I'd like to find someone who loves children and people, actually enjoys cleaning, is self-motivated, handy, and happy to help do some of the things I don't have time for. If you can teach us pieces of another language, that would be a huge bonus!

    The expectation is for each workawayer to spend roughly 20-25 hours per week helping out. The hours can be incredibly flexible depending on your goals. For example, you could work longer on a rainy day so you wouldn't need to work on a sunny day. You will track your own hours and choose the times that you work (roughly 4-5 hours per day)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private bedroom with a queen bed. Bathrooms and kitchen are shared with my family. Amazing ocean views.

    We share food and the fridge is always full. We are not necessarily providing for food extras like restaurant meals or special diets. We eat a wide variety of foods including fresh fruits & Vegetables, meats, dairy, etc.

    Kitchen has a gas stove, dishwasher, and lots of counter space.

    The upstairs living room is pretty open so it can be used for group yoga or any other purpose.

    This home is in Hawaii, so you are likely to encounter some wildlife. I've seen a whale do a full breach from the living room window, many whale tails and whale sprays from the kitchen windows, there are sometimes wild boars that hang out in the backyard. Geckos can be found inside, anoles can be found outside, along with bufo toads and coqui frogs. There are mongooses that live near the house and I occasionally see Hawaiian owls. There is a sweet hen that has adopted our yard (she gives us an egg every morning).

    You will also see spiders, insects, and some less desirable wildlife. Mosquitos, cockroaches, and fire ants can be found almost anywhere on the island. Depending on how much rain we get, there can be a lot of mosquitos (usually just outside, but if a door gets left open, sometimes inside). We also get blister beetles and centipedes on occasion. We take caution not to eat in the bedrooms so bugs aren't given the incentive to come inside. We have had struggles with mice and roof rats in the past, but that seems to be under control for now.

    We go to sleep pretty early, so we'd request that the house be reasonably quiet after about 7 pm. There is a pleasant park about a block away where you can stargaze and relax on the lawn. Since we go to bed early, the kids also wake up early and they are not quiet.

    I will make sure your sheets are clean and that you have a private space when you arrive. The rest of the house has no guarantee. Depending on the day, the house might be clean or there may have been a tornado of young children coming through with chaos. Although I only have 2 children, it's common to have a few extra 5-year old kids at the house in the afternoons. They are full of giggles, energy, and lots of noise.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do in this beautiful area! It's a great place to connect with nature and explore the beautiful ocean cliffs. Secluded, safe neighborhood

    0.9 miles to Kehena Black Sand Beach
    0.9 miles to Seaview Performing Arts Center for Education (aerial silks/circus/juggling classes)
    4 miles to Uncle Robert's (fun Wednesday night market)
    1-hour drive to Hilo
    30-minute drive to Pahoa
    2.5-hour drive to Kona
    We're located right next to Red Road

    We're a two-minute walk from the closest bus station. If you're feeling adventurous, hitchhiking is a common form of transportation during the day.

    If you prefer cities and shopping, this is NOT the place for you. We are an hour's drive from the closest Walmart or Target. The closest grocery store is 30 minutes away, but there is a lovely night market close to here and many honor stands for fruits and veggies. This is truly a secluded paradise.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 598842252331