Come and help with our family and horses at our beachside home in Marlborough, NZ

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    797

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for our next amazing helper to become part of our fun, beachside family from mid October 2021.

    We have a 16acre seaside property, 25min south of Blenheim & are looking for a wonderful nanny/helper to become part of our family (we both work full time) to help us with the care of our animals (including horses), children, the house and to take our daughter for rides on her pony after school.

    We're an outdoorsy family in our 40’s and have a 11yr son (away at boarding school), 9yr daughter, two large dogs, cat, horse, pony, pigs, goats, ducks, rabbit, chickens and a bearded dragon.

    You have your own cosy self-contained beachside cottage accom approx 80m away from the main house. We cover all your living costs (accommodation, food, power, internet, water, gas) and offer you pay as well.

    Looking for a 25yr + energetic, mature, trustworthy, reliable & skilled non-smoking person who loves children and animals. References are required. Must speak good English. Can provide car for work purposes.

    Happy to accommodate a couple/two friends and can help to find work for the other in neighbouring vineyards or elsewhere depending on skills. Prefer longer term stays ie 2mths or more. Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we live in the countryside and our children have a reasonably sheltered life from the outside world, we love having people from different cultures to become part of our family. My husband is involved in conservation and preservation work for DoC, TePapa Museum and other Museum's around NZ, so you can see and learn a lot about the Flora and Fauna of NZ.

    You get to take care for a wide variety of animals on the property and get to practice your cooking skills - we get myfoodbag.co.nz delivered each week so there are always new recipes to try. We have a wonderful rugged beach that is fun to explore and often you encounter seals and dolphins on your walks.

  • Help

    Help

    We are seeking a wonderful, caring, energetic, non-smoking helper to become part of our family and help us with our everyday life in return for a unique experience with our family in a beautiful coastal part of NZ.

    Tasks include - taking kids to the school bus, managing the house, doing after school activities with kids (taking our daughter riding on her pony), preparing dinner, keeping house tidy, and helping out feeding and taking care of animals, including the horses.

    We offer an allowance for overtime hours done over the 5hrs/day, 5days/wk agreement.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is in a cosy self-contained cottage (we affectionately call the JimJam), which is located on a beach 80m from the main house and has lovely views of the sea on your doorstep (the cottage contains 2 x single beds, TV, kitchen, stereo system, pot belly stove, bathroom with loo and shower). It is cosy, sunny, warm and can accommodate a maximum of 2 people.

    We provide you with all your food in your accommodation to make yourself three healthy meals each day. Breakfast and lunch you have in the JimJam, but dinners from Monday - Friday you can have with us. In the weekends you can cook for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, there are lots of fun things you can do without even having to leave the property like long beach walks, kayaking, swimming, fishing, whitebaiting, paddle boarding, surfing etc, or there are lots of great day trips to do in the area including fantastic walks like Marfell's Beach, Wither Hills Farm Park or Queen Charlotte Walking Track.

    Marlborough is renowned for its wine especially Sauvignon Blanc and there are lots of wineries you can visit.

    Our property is located just 10min from Seddon, which is a small township with a supermarket, school, pub, petrol station, church, children’s playcentre, 2 x café’s, gym, information centre, internet services and train station.

    Our nearest large town is Blenheim (40,000 people) which is 25min away and offers all other services you expect from a main town. The closest large city is Christchurch (3.5hrs drive) or Wellington which is a 25min flight from Blenheim or 3.5hr ferry from Picton.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs/day, 5days/wk (2 days off) plus paid overtime option


Host ref number: 598411672978