Help on a smallholding with horses in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 207 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4699

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a 3.5 hectare smallholding with 2 horses, 2 dogs, and 4 cats.

    There is a cosy caravan to host volunteers, and a shared kitchen and bathroom.

    Some of the projects I have planned include improving the area around the caravan (clearing the land, building a compost toilet and shower), a regenerative grazing system and Paddock Paradise style track, planting horse-friendly hedgerows, renovating the house, and improving the infrastructures. If you're particularly interested in any of these then please let me know.

    I always appreciate help with gardening (weeding), felling dead trees and cutting/chopping firewood, tree planting, general tidying, strimming, fencing, housework/cleaning, and cooking.

    I live alone because I love my peace and space! So I prefer volunteers who are independent (it might be good if you come with a friend or partner). The caravan has cooking facilities so you can cook your own meals, and we can also share some.

    If you are a gentle and experienced rider, there may be some opportunities to come out on trails with me.

    I would also consider a longer-term volunteer, especially someone who could take care of the smallholding and the cats when I go for camping trips with the horses / take care of everything when I go to the UK to visit family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Great opportunity if you'd like to learn more about general horse care, regenerative grazing systems, ecological building, developing permaculture gardens and a small food forest from scratch.

  • Help

    Help

    Simply lending a hand with whatever's on the go at the time. As a guideline I ask for 4 hours per day help.

    Building / renovation work / land clearing & maintenance / fencing / gardening / helping with the animals.

    I'd particularly love to hear from you if you're an experienced (gentle and horse-centred) dressage rider who can give me some lessons, a builder, plumber, electrician, carpenter, tree surgeon or gardener.

    Would love to have help from a carpenter who could build a greenhouse from a stack of old windows I have!

    Cooks are always welcome, and if you're not up to the heavier work then feeding me and other volunteers is a much appreciated task.

    I also sell horse manure, so help with loading the pick up and delivering would be useful (and a great opportunity for you to meet other people and projects in the area).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to improve our Portuguese and can help with your English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a comfortable caravan with (small) double bed, woodstove, hob and oven.

    Flat space and electric hookup for your own van, or bring your own tent - there are plenty of private spots to pitch it.

    There is a shared bathroom and kitchen.

    Food is provided and we'll eat some meals together but there is also the option to have more privacy/time out with cooking facilities in your accommodation. Most diets can be accommodated, just let me know in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's plenty to do and see in the wider area - paragliding and skiing, fantastic restaurants with cheap local dishes, stunning mountains to discover on empty roads and tracks, rivers and lakes, prehistoric sites, etc.

    If you're a confident, gentle, horse rider then there may be opportunities for exploring the local area on horseback.

    There's a great little international community here and there are occassional social events and workshops. However if you're looking for nightlife you're probably going to be disappointed!

    You'll need your own transport to get around, or rely on a lift when I go out.

    The nearest town is 5km away has train and bus stations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Can accept very well behaved dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days per week as a guideline

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.3)







Host ref number: 595869952351