Help for our family with an old farmhouse in beautiful Bornholm, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 141 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Danish-American family who have recently moved from Copenhagen to the Danish island of Bornholm. Here, we live in a farmhouse, in peaceful and stunning surroundings, just 2 km from the dreamy beaches of Dueodde. We are a family of four; Thomas (Danish), Shannon (American), and our happy sons Henry (born 2012) and Sylvester (born 2018). Apart from being our home, it is a well established and highly rated B&B. We enjoy welcoming international guests to our 6 rooms and 2 vacation apartments year round - though mostly in the summer months. This creates a fun and social environment. We seek help with a range of creative and practical projects to develop our own home and property, such as gardening/landscaping, building maintenance and renovations.

    We do our best to follow a healthy, whole foods diet. We eat limited red meats, and focus on chicken, fish and vegetarian meals. We are a non-smoking family, though you are allowed to smoke outside. We have one friendly cat named Cleo.

    Some of our favorite activities include hiking in the woods, biking, beachcombing, and grilling/eating outdoors when the weather permits. We love to travel - Thomas has been to many countries with his work in the medical device industry over the years, and has ridden his motorcycle across the US several times. Shannon loves writing, the arts and entrepreneurship - she was a theatre director in the US before she got her PhD and started teaching creativity and entrepreneurship at Copenhagen Business School. Henry is super social and loves to learn, play and run. Sylvester is an easy-going baby who is quick to smile.

    We welcome people of different ages and cultural backgrounds, and look forward to learning from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will have a unique opportunity to experience the beautiful island of Bornholm, visit the stunning beaches at Dueodde, and get to know the Danish way of life in the countryside. Bornholm has recently been featured as a top travel destination in the New York Times and by the BBC. The island is known for its many entrepreneurial and artistic inhabitants, and in the past 5-10 years it has become particularly well known as a culinary hotspot, which attracts visitors from all over the world. It is also just a short (80-minute) ferry ride from southern Sweden, or an even shorter (25 minute) plane ride from Copenhagen, for weekend travel.

    We are multi-lingual; Shannon and Henry speak Danish and English, and Thomas also speaks German. We are very interested in foreign countries and cultures and have traveled in much of the world. While you are not required to work in our family business, we are happy to share our experiences with business ownership and development with you. You will learn alongside us, as we experiment with expanding our gardens and developing our property.

    If you stay with us, we will do our best to ensure you feel welcome in our home and daily life, have opportunities to meet others, and that you have a great time :-).

  • Help

    Help

    In fall, winter and spring, when we are not so busy with tourists, we have more time for family, fun projects and home maintenance :-) It is an old farmhouse from 1850, with large gardens, so there are always things to improve, repair or add. Your tasks might include spackling, painting, woodwork, refinishing furniture, gardening/landscaping (including helping us develop our kitchen garden), stone and cement work in the courtyard, cutting firewood, and cleaning. If you enjoy cooking, you are also welcome to prepare meals now and then :-).

    We are happy to talk to you about your particular interests and skills, and tailor projects to you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish, English, German. Also understand Swedish and Norwegian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in one of our B&B guest rooms when we are not fully booked outside the summer season. It is one of the highest rated B&Bs on Bornholm, and our guest rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. There is a queen bed, chairs and table/desk, flat screen TV, DVD player, wifi, etc. We have three bathrooms (with showers) that are shared by our six guest rooms.
    During the busy season, you will have your own room in the our private living space.

    We will prepare and eat meals together. Breakfast is often a quick meal because we have to get Henry to school. We always have a sit-down dinner in the evening as a family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bornholm is great for biking, hiking, camping, fishing and other outdoor activities. There are miles of beaches - both the rocky and the sandy kind. The third largest forest in Denmark is also on Bornholm. Along with Denmark's third highest point, Rytterknægten. It is a staggering 162 meters!

    Our farmhouse is located in the countryside. We are 2 km from the ocean, 5 km from the closest town (village), Snogebæk, with a supermarket, and 10 km from Nexø, the closest larger town with approx. 3600 inhabitants. There is a bus stop nearby (5 min walk). The airport is 20 km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 595117625636