Help us build an imaginative organic living space in Denver, CO, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 544 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1208

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 43 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    —-—Update——-

    Due to COVID-19, we aren’t hosting anyone. We are in full bunker mode and would encourage you to do the same. Feel free to hit us up again after a vaccine has been developed and mass distributed.

    Cheers,
    Dwight and Jessica

    ———————————-

    Hello Hello - We are Dwight and Jessica from Denver, CO. We previously used Workaway during 9 months of traveling in the South Pacific and South East Asia. Now we've settled down and would love to share our creative space with you!

    We used workway to travel to farms in Fiji, Tonga, New Zealand, and Malaysia and now need your help to turn our place into the same creative homes we stayed in across the world. We enjoy Workaway because it allows for the cultural and life skills exchange we both cherish. We need some help building and maintaining gardens- fixing bikes and building a creative outdoor space around us.

    We’ve hosted folks in Austin, Texas and are now looking to open our home in Denver, CO!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Our goal is to turn our backyard into an organic creative space. You could be fixing and decorating bicycles or painting and building fences from recycled pallets and most likely planting yummy veggies or pretty flowers.

    The main qualification for joining our family is you must be curious and capable. What I mean by that is, you must be able to research tasks (like how to fix a bike) on the internt and then execute those plans. As two former Workawayers we were constantly asked to build or do stuff without any previous experience. We googled "how to build a raised garden bed" and got to work using an electric saw for the first time. We hope you can share in this attitude.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've got a cozy 3 bedroom one bathroom house in Denver Its a quaint space so we'll all have to get along for this to work. You’ll have access to our underground suite aka a finshed out basement bedroom. We've got an adorable kiddo and greatest dog in the world, Cassidy, who most likely will cuddle with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are applying through Workway - you are doing more than asking to work for someone. You are asking to join our family. This is a very special request. We are open to all travelers and all friends, but we need to you know you truly care about staying with us and not sending out blast requests. We also have a little kiddo so safety is very important to us.

    As former Workawayers, we wrote requests that were several paragraphs long because it should take you that long to articulate why you want to join a family. We expect all requests to be thorough, special, and specific to our home. Bonus points if you're funny.

    We'll take care of you and show you a righteous time in Denver, but we except the love and respect to be returned. Thanks for visiting our site and have a groovy time on your life's journey.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day but we are more focused on accomplishing goals

All Aboard
Hanging out in the kitchen getting ready to go to the zoo.
Taking the kiddo to his first Red Rocks show to see Phil Lesh!
Previous garden from Austin. Please help us build a new one in Denver.
Previous garden from Austin. Please help us build a new one in Denver.
Previous garden from Austin. Please help us build a new one in Denver.
Previous garden from Austin. Please help us build a new one in Denver.
Our first Workway experience - this was in Fiji!




Host ref number: 594862774232