Dogs...more dogs, cats and other animals, near Leicester, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 768 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there! We are Jan and Dave. We have 3 dogs, 32 sheep, 4 ducks, 2 pigs, 3 turkeys and 15 chickens. Our home is a dog hotel, and we welcome genuine dog lovers to share our life here.
    Our next availability is right now, and we need one helper for 3 or 4 weeks, and then one more helper for 3 or 4 weeks from early October.
    Our small farm is 3.5 hectares of pasture land and a vegetable garden. The dog hotel is our main business. It's pretty essential that you like to have dogs around you at all times, because there are sometimes 9 large dogs here and they are all in the house with us. We also have a boarding Cattery where cats come to stay for their holidays, so it also helps if you like cats!
    We grow lots of vegetables in the garden, and enjoy eating the produce from here as well as the meat from our animals.
    We enjoy sharing our life with Workaway volunteers, and are looking for outgoing and interesting people, with a good level of English who want to be part of our family for a while. For us workaway is not just an exchange of food and accommodation for work. It is a chance for us to meet people, make new friends, and introduce them to our way of life. Your hard work will be repaid with good food and comfortable accommodation, and we encourage lively conversation around the table!
    Our life pretty much revolves around our dogs, and we want you to share this with us, joining in with our various activities. We hope you enjoy meeting our family, walking with the dogs,and visiting various local places of interest with us.
    Please note that we are not vegetarian, and because we eat meat from our own animals at most meals we feel that this may not be the best place for strict vegetarians.
    Also we really prefer non smokers.
    ...but tea drinkers are very welcome!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunity to learn about dog training, agility and gundog work. We like to welcome our helpers as part of the family, and include them in all of the activities that we are involved in, such as traditional dancing. We include our helpers in all aspects of our family life and traditions, and take them out to any events of interest in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with walking, feeding and taking care of the dogs, sometimes as many as 9 dogs! The cats in the Cattery need feeding and cleaning daily. There is work in the vegetable garden, with the sheep, chickens etc. Also house cleaning, painting , chopping wood, and general farm and house duties.
    You should tell us about your experience with dogs in the first line of your email please!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You stay with us in the house in a large room with double bed, single bed and couch. We provide 3 meals a day, mostly traditional English fare and we all eat together at breakfast and dinner, although sometimes lunch is DIY! We like to try food cooked by our helpers too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a central location with access by train to Coventry, Birmingham, and an hour to London. The area is of historical interest with Bosworth Battlefield and King Richard the third, National Space centre, Coventry motor museum, Bradgate park, Melton Mowbray market. We are happy to take our helpers to local sights of interest.
    There are walks from our door, including a geocaching trail nearby.
    We have been taking volunteers for 5 years and enjoy having them as part of our family. We have 40 volunteer references on another website, and have been on workaway for two years now.
    Please tell us in the first line of your email what experience you have with dogs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 593134617417