We live in a lake community, so in the winter there is access to ice skating, fishing, hockey and sledding. Come and stay with us! Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 30 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there! My name is Erin and I am a single mom of five teenagers (12- 19)! I work full time as a nurse and need a little help with the everyday, day to day running of my home. Mainly, I need some help with cooking meals for my tribe and walking the dog. We are a busy family on the go a fair bit, with pretty average family activities. The kids play rugby in the spring, ball hockey in the fall, and basketball in the winter. We are a bit of a rowdy house, as 4 out of five of the kids are boys. They like to do pretty standard "teenage" stuff, video games, target practice with bee bee guns, street basketball and hockey, tinkering with trucks, hanging out with friends and EATING. Ha! We are pretty down to earth and welcoming, with a fantastic circle of friends (that would also be eager to know you). We often host summer time out door movie nights in the back yard as well as bon fires, with wiener roasts. If you join us during the Christmas Season you will be apart of our annual Christmas Party!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in Calgary, Alberta a city in the foot hills of the Beautiful Rocky mountains. 1-2 hours from Banff and the many hiking trails and adventures the Rockies have to offer. Calgary itself is host to the greatest outdoor show on earth during the first two weeks of July. The Calgary Stampede, you can take in nightly dances, live music, rodeo and chuck wagon races, midway and various cultural displays. There are many parks and opportunities to observe wild life. We live in a lake community, so in the winter there is access to ice skating, fishing, hockey and sledding. Summer time offers a small beach, fishing, row boats and paddle boarding. Calgary has both an NHL and CFL team (hockey and football) if sports are your thing...

  • Help

    Help

    Cooking Supper/ lunches - bagged for kids for lunch
    Midday walk/ dog park for black lab
    Help with keeping house tidy
    Summer time help in garden (small flower garden & raised veggie beds)
    Building... I may need help building those raised flower beds for the veggies!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers can expect to stay in the spare room of our single family home, with access to a shared bathroom with a tub and shower. The home has three living rooms with ample space for down time and privacy. There is a good sized city back yard that is sunny and fenced. There is a large spacious kitchen and dining room, with a deck and BBQ. The main hope is for the workawayer to cook and be creative, that is really where I need help the most. I will buy the groceries and the workawayer will decide what they would like to make, cook it and eat with us. We have no dietary restrictions/ allergies and would like it if you didn't as well. It would be expected that the fam jam (myself and kids!) do the dishes! My hope is that you will become like a part of our family. We have a fat black lab and two cats as well. NO SMOKING.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mountains with in an hour of the front door/ parks/ public transportation busing, train close by/ drivers licence an asset/ mix of city life and rural / biking/ hiking/ Aboriginal culture/ farmers markets/ skating/ skiing/ snowboarding/ kayaking/ rock climbing / fishing

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 592717523622