Come create and help out in a quiet village by the sea in Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a small village (pop 600) in the North Island of New Zealand/Aotearoa. I am from the local iwi/tribe Ngati Rangitihi. I am a creator of stone sculptures, jewellery and many other things. I have chickens, 2 cats and a dog. I have been renovating my little house and the gardens. I am an organic gardener and eco activist. My extended family live close by and the Pacific Ocean is a 5 minute walk away and the bush is as well. I can offer unique local knowledge and experiences.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer you local insight into Maori culture, and impart my knowledge of the world Te Ao Maori, as well as sharing unique experiences.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with home cooking, cleaning, painting, building a glass brick wall, picking and preserving fruit, gardening and paving and general cleaning up and installing an outside bath and getting creative

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a bach with a deck on it that is used for accommodation (see photo with red guitar hanging). We share the bathroom and kitchen space in my home although there is also a composting toilet separate from the house as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many local tourist attractions within an hours drive of my house. The public transport is not that great but the beach is a short walk away and Whakatane is a 15 minute drive away, I'm happy to drop you off there to take in the sights and shops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a reasonably good wifi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 592692293497