Help in eco-construction, Sao Miguel Island, Azores, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    My name is Tea, I am from Croatia, but living in Sao Miguel island (Azores, Portugal) for 4 years. I came to this island with a working program and fell in love with this place, nature and people so much that I have decided to stay here for a longer time. Now I live here in a small town, Ribeira Grande, working as a yoga teacher and ceramic artist, and I hope to make my new home here. And that's why I need your help. :)
    This year I have bought a property, small, old house (ruin) and a land of 1500 m2, and I have decided to fix it and make a new home. The house on the property is a stone ruin, with some cement parts. But mostly stone walls and lime-sand plaster as well as earth for filling holes. Since the project is already in a progress some of things have already been done. First we did the roof! So house is dry and safe :) Walls were all cleaned up (with the help of workaways as well), and rebuild first and second plaster. Some of the walls have already been painted with clay paint. Bathroom wall was build in light clay-straw technique with earthen plaster and clay paint. I also rebuild the wooden floor in bedroom and most recently manage to do earthen floor in rest of the house with a huge help of my friends.
    So in the next month I will need help mostly with some finishing touches, and carpentry work. I would love to build a tool shed in my garden and furniture.
    In the garden there are many fruit trees like avocado, araçai, orange, tangerine, banana and much more. For the moment I plan to make few raised beds and plant seasonal vegetables. In the future I plan to make more earthen or wooden structures on the land.
    I enjoy learning new things and there are few I can teach others. I love spending time in nature, working in outdoors and being creative even with small things. I'm looking forward meeting people who would like to visit this beautiful island and share their experience and knowledge by helping me on my project.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Each new experience in our life teach us something. I hope that I can share some of my knowledge in gardening, bio-construction, furniture restoration and ceramics, as well you can always join me for a morning yoga class :)

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for an experienced and skilled person to help me repair or better rebuild an old house. It would be nice if a person have experience in earth building (cob, earthen plaster) and/or carpentry. But even if the person is not skilled but has a great will to learn and not afraid of some hard working is more than welcome to join me on this project.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Croatian and Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment I'm living in a house in Ribeira Grande, and my new property and a ruin are in a near by village Lombinha da Maia (15 min of driving). So in the house, a person will have hers/his own room, and we will share living space, bathroom and kitchen.
    I will also provide three meals per day (breakfast, lunch and dinner), I usually eat vegetarian meals and I don't cook meat, but as well I can adapt to the needs of a guest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ribeira Grande is a small city on the center of the north coast of the island. So everything is pretty close. There is one of the nicest beach just 15 min of walking from the house. Close by there are hot springs Caldeira Velha and Caldeiras da Ribeira Grande, tea factory and plantations (Cha Gorreana) and beautiful Lagoa do Fogo.
    There is a bus station, that for a cheap ticket can take you on the other part of island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

After...new wooden floor and earthen plaster on the walls
Before....
Tim in his own words: Another day at the office! :)
mmmm chocolate salami! :)
Aron on top of the roof, ready to lift up some heavy wood! :)
Always having fun with Jon and Henry! <3
Preparing wall for plastering with help of friends and Marcel from workaway
Roof, wooden structure
Bathroom wall, light clay-straw technique
Maike looking at her work of art! :) Great and fast worker! <3
Jon and Henry after we have filled up this tractor trailer with an old plaster. Strong guys! :)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 591963874244