A small guest house for people and animals on the Lycian Way near Kalkan, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small guest house above a Turkish village catering mainly for Lycian way walkers.

    Our maximum number for guests is nine, and they mostly stay one to two nights. The nearest town is Kalkan fifteen minutes away by bus or car. From Kalkan buses may be got to Fethiye or Kas to Antalya. There is horse riding at Patara beach and riding just outside Kas.

    Additionally we help the local street animal charities and foster dogs which have been adopted and will be taken to Britain and the rest of Europe. As well as keeping the place clean we need help exercising and feeding the dogs cats and chickens.

    We have seven dogs who are permanent residents and rather a lot of cats and a few chickens. The foster dogs who stay between 2 and 5 months can number between 5 and 12 (at time of writing we have 7)
    Our house looks out over Kaputas gorge. We have an infinity pool and behind us hills and some nice walking. Most days we have shepherds passing with their flocks of sheep and goats otherwise it's a nice quiet place to be.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a Turkish village where few people speak anything but Turkish. However if you have learnt some Turkish in Istanbul or Ankara you may find the village dialect a bit different!

    The working language here is English and we are happy to help anyone improve their English.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help with serving breakfast and the evening meal. Chatting to guests is good too. There might be some clearing up but we work as a team and the house is designed so for fast easy cleaning.

    Some cats and kittens and a few of the dogs are in the house the rest live outside although there are lots of dog and cat houses around the house - With this number of animals keeping the house clean is a major priority and we get up early to get it done and leave the rest of the day free. The work is not heavy as we all work together to get everything done. The need is for some kind person to help us keep the property neat and tidy and the animals happy.

    Our philosophy is to treat guests the same way as we would like to be treated. Volunteers are treated the same way.

    We do ask volunteers to commit to staying at least 2 weeks with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable ensuite room for anyone choosing to stay. Meals are eaten with us and guests.
    Wifi is good but tends to disappear during thunderstorms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of historic sites in the area. Patara beach is beautiful for sunbathing, swimming, walking and horse riding. Kaputas beach is gorgeous with its turquoise waster. Kalkan which is fifteen minutes away offers a nice selection of shops, restaurants, boat trips, a small beach and a lively night life. Buses are every hour from the village or we will transport you if we are going in that direction.
    Kas is more international and buses go from Kalkan hourly. Kas is a working town with two harbors and lots of shop and a good night life.. Paragliding is done from the hills above and landing is near the old harbor. Horse riding is at Çükabağ Just outside Kas.

    We would like someone with a sense of humour who can cope with cats and dogs and chatting to guests. We have a very laid back attitude to life and would like someone with the same kind of thinking. We are about enjoying what we do and Giving people a good experience to take with them on their journey

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 591762137598