Help us around the house and explore beautiful Akureyri, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 176 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a 32 year old couple and have a 3 year old daughter. We live in a house in north Iceland. I thought it would be a good idea to offer our spare room for someone that would like to join Iceland on a budget, and in the meantime get some help with minimal stuff around the house.
    The ww would be need to be at least 20 years old, preferably 25 and up :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Iceland is amazing country, and living in the north (second largest town in Iceland) is a bit different than spending time in the city (Reykjavik). There are beautiful areas all around, and to be able to spend a bit time in this area, in whatever season it would be, it ables the traveller to enjoy more of this part of Iceland, and not just the south as many of tourist do. Winter here is amazing, and for sure a winter wonderland. Northern lights light up the sky and dance around. In summer, the sun is shining 24hours and the best weather is always here in Akureyri ;)

    Exploring Icelandic nature is something that should not be missed, and if there is interest for some other old icelandic saga's (old icelandic stories), I'm happy to make something up. ;)

    Of course we also have all the elves and who knows if you spend some time here, you can spot one or two.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It will depend on the interest of the traveller. Work can vary with different things of what the traveller would like and can do. It can be cleaning the house, playing with my little girl, cook dinner and shopping. It can also be help with small constructions work around the house if the person knows a thing or two in that field. Work can vary between seasons, so we would just find something that suits us both :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest bedroom and a bathroom next to it. The kitchen is large space connected to the living room, and there we spend most of our time when we are home. We would share the kitchen, and we can adjust a space in the fridge and some drawers and cabinets for a private space for the travellers things in the kitchen. Of course she/he is allowed to use what he wants and needs of our stuff and foods as they wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are amazing places all around, we have free buses in town, we only have one car, but we can arrange time so you could borrow it and drive around if you have a licence. We are happy to take some trips and show you around as well. We have bicycles as well and they are all yours if you like. We can also borrow some equipment like snowboard and clothes if you would like to try our resort if you come in winter. There is a indoor skatepark as well if that is a hobby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking lot with plenty of space

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 589919987425