Looking for some kind animal-loving helpers on our small horse farm in northern Brandenburg, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 283 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    56

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family, my parents Steffen (70) and Dagmar (55) and me Steffi (29), that lives and works on a small private horse farm in a little village located between the big cities Berlin and Hamburg. The four legged part of our family consists of six horses, two small dogs and two cats.
    We train our horses with positive reinforcement (clickertraining) to do Horse-Agility with us, which is a lot of fun for horses and humans. Last year we started using the TTeam approach (the Tellington TTouch method for horses) for the more basic education of our younger horses. In the summer holiday we host a small horse-camp for groups of max. 4 children. At a regular basis we also offer Horse-Agility-Courses at our and other peoples farms, where children and grown-ups can experience this fun way to spend time with horses and learn about positive reinforcement as a great, non-violent way to comunicate and work with animals.
    We really enjoy living with and caring for our horses, but because of them we have almost no possibility to travel and explore the world. So we hope you come for a visit and bring some of the world to us.
    Please contact us if you have questions or are interested in more information. I will try and answer all messages I get but it may sometimes take a few days. If I don't answer at all please write again, I sometimes overlook messages and forget to reply. :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Aside from learning german or improving your language skills, you can learn a lot about horses in general and about how to train them, using positive reinforcement and the TTeam method.
    Please note that we can't really offer riding opportunity.
    If you're lightweight and somewhat experienced (balanced seat and still hands) you could occasionally ride one of the ponys and help train them under the saddle, but they're still pretty green and get mostly worked on the ground.

  • Help

    Help

    Like on every other horse farm the main everyday work that needs to be done is cleaning the paddocks and pastures from horse poop. Other than that we have always a lot of different work to do. It ranges from little to big construction, building and painting projects as we keep renovating our house and improving the farm to picking weeds or mowing the lawn. Our often neglected vegetable garden is also always grateful for some care. In the time of our summer camp we appreciate some help with entertaining the kids or preparing meals for them. And of course there is work all around the horses like cleaning the tack and tack room, grooming the horses and help with training them depending on your knowledge and skills in that area.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in one of our two simple but freshly renovated guestrooms in the attic. You will usually have a room to yourself, but on occassion it may be necessary to share it with a fellow workawayer (especially while we are hosting the summer camp). Bathroom and kitchen and meals will be shared. It would be great if we sometimes could cook and prepare meals together.
    We can accommodate two workawayer and there is also place for one or two children up to the age of 14.
    (It may also be possible to bring one small to medium well behaved dog, that is friendly to other dogs, cats and horses. Though my dog is not a big friend of other dogs - but in case you can't or don't want to leave your dog at home, we could work something out.)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beside from exploring the countryside and just hanging out on our farm enjoying the company of horses and nature, you could go and visit the big cities Hamburg and Berlin (both approximately 2h with train) or take a trip to the baltic sea. Altough public transportation is rare in our village it's no problem to drop you off at the train station next town and pick you up later. And if you want we could sometimes make trips in the surrounding area together. Especially interesting for horse people may be a trip to one of our big German State Studs: The State Stud Redefin in Mecklenburg and the State Stud Neustadt (Dosse) in Brandenburg (where I did my apprenticeship) are both only about one hour away from our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It is possible to bring one small to medium well behaved dog, that is friendly to other dogs, cats and horses. My own dog is not a big friend of other dogs though - but in case you can't or don't want to leave your dog at home, we could work something out.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The (not so) secret "junior boss" on our farm. Steffis beloved Miniature Australien Shepherd girl Mahjong.
On our way home. At the right side of the picture are our house and stable hiding behind the trees and hedges.
Steffi and the two horse boys Argus and Arik
Some landscape
Exploring the neighborhood with our young mare Ayva.
Enjoying pasture time.
Our horses and ponys.






Host ref number: 589772731686