updated  

Looking for energetic people to help with gardening in Cusco, Peru

  • Peru
  • Favourited 175 times
  • Last activity: 29/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello i am Paola, living with my 3 dogs and some occasional visitors in a quiet and safe neighbourhood close to the woods (10 steps) but not far from the city, about 15 mins walking.
    I am fine artist and designer who works in her own projects at home and when there is some peace and inspiration.
    We are lucky to live in a pretty part of Cusco, close to the nature and not far from the city, you can find shops, restaurants, banks, hospitals, bus stops very close (to the historical center which is about 25 minutes by taxi or 40 by public transportation)
    We have a big space to make our own garden but we don't really have the time for it, so i am giving a try with this exchange that is workaway, instead of hiring a local gardener or helper, so your help will be much needed and apreciated, help and time that you can give in exchange of room and 2 meals a day (the days you will be working)
    I teach pottery to children and held some art workshops in my house, so if you are an artist you can help at the workshops also.

    If you are HARDWORKING, enthusiastic, energetic have interest in Cusco and its culture, want to visit the historical places that this city offers you and if you are open to follow rules, and more important speak other language than spanish, please get in touch, we would like to meet you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll have plenty of time to do your trips, tours, visiting the sacred valley, Machu Picchu, etc.
    I am flexible if you need the morning to travel, etc, we can arrange another day to help around and complete your hours.
    You can learn spanish, also i can teach you arts, i can help you to plan your trips, and if you enjoy Peruvian history we will have hours taking about it. Also you will be close and in contact with nature, the woods where i live is private and secure, it held many kind of birds and other non dangerous animals (mostly in summer) so if you love nature, you will enjoy walking thru it and also there is a view point to observe the city and the great sunsets we have everyday.
    The food will be mostly peruvian, and organic, i do my food shopping from the local farmers market, if you are vegan or vegetarian, there is always some super food (Quinua, tarwi, Chia, morayas, lisas, ocas) from Peru, so you will not be hungry, and we can prepare a nice lentils burgers. There is always local fruit in the basket for you.
    You can also use the washing machine, have internet access for your own entertainment, but please i recommend to turn the lights at 10:00 P.M
    As the weekends are are your free days, you have to provide yourself with your meals, usually my part of the house will be close as i am resting or travelling.
    I recommend you to visit places and also to try the peruvian cuisine in all the great restaurants we have at the historical center of Cusco!

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to have help in the spaces that will become a garden, removing weeds, cleaning spaces, moving the soil, cleaning it as it has loads of little stones, plant some grass, flowers, watering the garden, the flowers, help to accommodate them so they can grown without problems; Help in the house sweeping, Mopping, polishing, food shopping at the local market.
    Looking for an ENERGETIC people, who knows how to properly clean and help around and if it doesn't know how to, it has to stay open to learn the way it works for me.
    It is only 5 hours a day; the first day i will be showing you how is the best way to do some duties at home so you do have to be open to suggestions, i will be open to them too.

    I believe the 2 first days will be a bit challenging as we were beging to know each other, please i would like to you to take any suggestions in the best positive way, when i work or when people have to do some task at home i tend to be strict with hours, and ways that we already set; i always expect the best in people, i always show respect and give thanks for the effort people shown at work (if you show effort); after the serious matter, we can spend time walking in the woods, doing some art, visiting towns, learning about peruvian history, playing board games, watching movies, telling jokes, etc. If you have time of course, as you will be free to do your own plans after you finished with your 5 hours a day.
    Please be respectful of my privacy, always knock on the sliding door which separates my place from the rest of the house.
    Try to tell us when you are leaving, and when you are arriving, before you do (those to make sure the door is perfectly close and it has its tricks, and also the dogs will not get away and get lost in the woods.
    We have some house rules, we can discuss them over whats app before you accept the interexchange.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to learn French, German, Norwegian, and practising my English and Italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private room inside the house and a shared bathroom, you have to keep it tidy and clean in your own time (probably you will have to share it with some visitors)
    Breakfast and dinner (2 meals a day) from monday to friday, Saturday and Sunday you are free and usually to make your own plans, travelling to the sacred valley or to visit other historical places, etc.
    On weekends i rest so it would be great if you leave early and come back late, thanks.
    Some days is "market day" so you will be show how to do the shopping and what to buy when needed.
    You have to help for about 5 hours a day, doing the gardening work, ideally before and after breakfast. Some light duties, sweeping, mopping, cleaning after breakfast begore you continue with the gardening work, some other help like picking up leafs on the stair while you walking out the house would be very much appreciated, and taking the rubbish out for the rubbish truck to pick up.

    I get very disappointed if you only show effort the first days and then the house will be in worst conditions like if i was alone and without help!
    So will asked you to leave, you have to keep the house clean and tidy, not only the 5 hours you are working, but all the time, so everything has to be in place, don't forget what you were asked to do, and keep the room, toilet and spaces that you use clean, this outside your hours.
    Thanks

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cusco is the most important city in Perú, full of places to visit, filled with ancestral culture, you don't need to go far to find a interesting place to visit. I highly recommend to purchase the "BOLETO TURISTICO" to save some money, this is an almost all in one ticket which has a big discount. Places like Saqsayhuaman, Puca Pucara, Tambomachay, Qènqo, Tipón, Raqchi, etc. are easy to visit, you don't need a private tour, i will give you the tips to get to those in a public transportation. You can visit MachuPicchu, Ollantaytambo, Pisaq, Chinchero, maras and Moray in a weekend (make sure you book Machu Picchu in advance)



    Some great museums, like Qoricancha, Catedral, Casa Garcilaso, Museo Casa Concha, Museo de La Merced will be a great places to visit.
    If you are more adventurous, you will find, places to Kayaking, to Rafting, to mountain climb, to rapel, bungee jumping etc
    There are saunas and pools close to the house if you want to relax.
    Good restaurants, pubs, and bars too.
    Puno and Arequipa are very close, so you can plan a weekend trip.

    I will help you to plan if you need it, but please read about Cusco, before so we can plan together, if you wish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours every day, weekends free.

Host ref number: 589167172176

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)





Help out within our ecological park in Machu Picchu, Peru.
French, English and Spanish language exchange in Lima, Perú