Outdoor projects and enjoying life near Perth, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My next project is to service and fix some things on my Land Rover Discovery. The main reason I want help is because I want someone to be here in case I hurt myself but I like company and I would love the opportunity to help someone learn about fixing and servicing cars.

    Depending on how long you want to stay, there are plenty of other things to do and these include fencing and working on the solar system. It all depends on the weather because I don't like it when it's too hot so I plan my life around the weather at this time of the year.

    I enjoy helping others learn English and I could use some help with a few things. I want to redesign the water around the house and also make some changes to the power. No specific skills are needed. I just have trouble with the usual age-related things such as aches and pains. I have it all planned out and just need someone to come and make me get off the computer. I want to speak more Japanese too.

    I live on a 5 acre property 130km east of Perth, which I like to keep natural. I'm very easy going and I'd rather enjoy life than work too hard. At this time of year I am maintaining my firebreaks and keeping cool. If I had some suitable help I would be interested in building some shelter for the cars which would also enable me to catch more water.

    There is plenty of space for camping, yoga and sunbathing and I am someone who does everything himself so you will definitely learn something from me. It may be car maintenance, guitar playing, singing, carpentry, electronics. Or something else! I need to relocate some olive trees, build things and I service my own vehicles. Basic upkeep of the property is an ongoing thing and I'll be tidying up the place until November. The property is completely off-grid and I prefer to use my outdoor shower than the indoor one! I'm planning to build some things in the next couple of months before it gets really hot and there are lots of things I would like to achieve. You will learn many skills and do things you may not have ever done before.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the ultimate way to experience life in the wheatbelt of WA and a great way to enjoy life. Australian values are strong out here and many of the people in town are from large farms that have been around for over 100 years. This is a fantastic place to come to be surrounding by people who are mainly Australian which is an excellent way to immerse yourself in to the Aussie way of life. I'm a musician as well and music is practiced a lot. While I would like to learn more Japanese I am very interested in helping people learn to speak English better. Evenings on the deck are a great way to end the day and enjoy the Australian landscape.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks often vary! I'm keen to learn more of the Japanese language too. There is a good mix of heavy and light work to do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love to help others with English and would like to improve my Japanese. I would love to share my knowledge with others and find myself needing help more and more these days.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping. (glamping) in the house and I have a tent if necessary.

    Meals can be shared and we can experiment with foods if we wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town I live in has a fascinating history and the train to Perth is close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would need to talk about this for me to better understand.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campervans are great as they are your own accommodation and there is a dump spot in town.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day,


Host ref number: 118311793252