Help with gardening at our organic farm in Afritz am See, Austria

  • Favourited 1199 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a family in the nice and big mountains of South Austria
    We are running an organic Farm with about 25 cows and calves, some chickens, 2 pigs, a dog and two cats.
    We have 20 ha of grassland, about 60 ha of forest and 15 ha of alp.
    The farm is located on the sun side of a mountain called Woellernernock, very close to Villach.
    I (Samuel) live here with my girlfriend Sarah and my parents Heinz and Elisabeth.
    There is a lot of work to do all year 'round, but the most fun it is during summer when it is warm and sunny. In the cold season from November to April we are mostly inside getting ready for the next season and also keeping the animals fed in the stable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The help would be mainly in the very big vegetable garden of our mom. She grows very good stuff and all organic
    and also in the house cooking and helping my mother with all the stuff but don't worry the hours of work can be up to 4 or 5 hours a day.
    There is always chores to be done!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in the second floor of our house and as well your own Kitchen if you are not joining us for the meals

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 439868534be5

Feedback (25)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience life in a small self-build yurt between the Danube and the forest of Vienna
Come and help with equine therapy for our non-profit association in Carinthia, Austria