Yoga and massage in the Pentland hills in Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated   Last minute

Favourited 584 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our cottage is situated just at the foot of the Pentland hills in Scotand with gorgeous panoramic views to every direction. We bought it just over four years ago when it was in a bit of a state and have spent all of our time since then bringing the house back to living condition. We are not a working farm but our long term aim is to become a working small holding, having animals and growing lots of our own food, but also to be an artistic creation centre where individuals and companies can come to develop their work.

    At present living on the here are two adults, two children, one baby, one dog, one cat, four ponies, one foal and a hive of bees. :) Coming here would really suit people who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and spend some quality time in the wild. We are only 40 minutes drive from Edinburgh and an hour from Glasgow, but it feels like you are a world away - there is no public transport here so it would be good if you have your own means of transport. There is great walking up in the hills and we border some forests where you can cycle.

    The most exciting news is that we are just in the process of installing a hot tub! :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a chance to experience Scotland and how beautiful it can be. There are two artistic companies based at the farm at present - one circus company and one story telling company and we would be happy to chat about creative ideas with you. The farm is ideal for children and totally safe since there is not a main road for over a mile.

    If you would like to improve your English we would happily speak to you and give you pointers. Various people on the farm speak French, Spanish, Italian, and Dutch.

  • Help

    Help

    We are about to start a building project on the side of our house which will last a couple of weeks beginning on the 15th October. We have been lucky enough to have lots of people volunteer to come and help us with the building so now I am looking for someone to look after the builders! Anyone with massage/yoga/physio training would be most welcome. You would not be expected to help on the build ( although we wouldn't say no if you wanted to!) But something along the lines of leading a daily yoga/stretching/exercise class and then massage for tired bones later on in the day would be perfect. If you have any relevant skills we would love to hear from you. :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian (basic), Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A caravan just beside the house with two double beds and one single, plus a bunk bed option for children. It can sleep four adults (very cosily) or two adults and up to three children.

    Or there is also a small double room inside the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can go walking or cycling around the local area. There is also a loch with good fishing within a 15 minute walk. We are a dark sky area and so on clear nights looking at the stars is amazing.

    For a painter or artist this would be an ideal place as the landscape is spectacular and inspirational.

    There is no public transport however a car does go from the farm to Edinburgh and back fairly often during the week, so you would be able to see the sites there. If you have a car Glasgow is only an hour away and you would also be able to explore the whole of the picturesque central belt of Scotland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 581858441739