Help a warm, music loving mother and her children in Frome, an alternative market town in Somerset UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1265 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    60  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello wonderful workaway community

    Help welcome from August 23rd cleaning, gardening and sorting spaces.


    My name is Tanya and I live in the lovely town of Frome in the county of Somerset with my daughter Maya who is 17 and my son Emrys who is 11 and our lovely little dog called Lottie. Emrys loves music (Beatles especially) dressing up and is very funny. Maya is quieter, shy and a huge music fan and loves the Beatles, Bob Dylan, playing Piano and Ukelele as well. Maya was born with a rare brain condition (which you wouldn’t know), but does affect her emotionally and physically slightly.

    I am looking for help mainly with house work, gardening, sorting out spaces, painting, and other simple projects.

    I would love to hear from people who can help with any or all of these things:

    Woodwork/carpentry/chopping wood, building skills, cooking healthy food, gardening, child care house work, arranging spaces and sorting out my garage with me.

    I am an experienced host and have loads of positive feedback, and I don’t ask anyone to do a task we haven’t done or tried before. I would like people who are over 21 years of age and independent.

    I am warm, social and outgoing and have lots of different aspects of my life to juggle with running a business, house, child care and all my music commitment.

    I am a solo parent so wiwork and keeping on top of the house and garden is tricky. I have cut back on work to be around more.

    Frome is a fantastic place and has a unique alternative community of creative people (Artists, Musicians, Writers, poets and crafts people). It has lots going on in the local pubs, it has a great music venues, lots of art galleries, markets and independent shops. The town has a 10 day festival every July (google Frome Festival) and many interest groups that meet. (It was voted the second coolest place in the UK to live recently!) Frome has a town council made up of independent people, so no party politics so very forward thinking and dynamic.

    Probably good to mention I am left wing (socialist) and politically engaged and passionate so if you are a right winger or a COVID denier We might not be the right fit. 😊

    I run courses and arts based projects using African Drumming and percussion. (Also in the past I have run drama, shadow puppets, songwriting and choir courses). With so many government cuts this is getting harder so I want to turn my organisation from a 'not for profit' into a business. I run a monthly Family Drum Circle, weekly classes and do various workshops and sessions teaching drumming and percussion and music in general. I play the Djembe, guitar and also play the trumpet in the Frome Street Bandits, which is a community band that turn up and play on the streets of Frome with an aim to make people dance, laugh and have fun! Open to jamming when there is time! (Did I say we are busy! 😀) .

    Frome is in the ‘West Country’ and is 2.5 hours from London by train, it’s 2 hours from Devon, and about 20 miles away you will find the historic city of Bath, the big city of Bristol, and Glastonbury with its amazing Tor. I have a few friends locally who also have Workawayers so we could get together and you could meet others if that is what you want.

    We are a vegetarian family and don't like meat in the house. I will provide all your meals and cook a hot meal in the evening that we will eat together (or you could cook if you wanted for us!) You would help yourself to breakfast and lunch unless I am cooking anyway. We enjoy good food and like to eat as healthy as possible but time is always an issue as we are busy and don't have hours to prepare meals. I am a good cook (speedy) and we love sitting down eating together with a candle, conversation and sometimes some playing music.

    I aim to parent in a way so that my children are valued, respected, able to express themselves and to be confident. We love a laugh and Emrys is a great entertainer dressing up and dancing for us. We would be really happy to share our home, friends and the wider community (I am well networked and know lots of helpful contacts) with you in exchange for 5 hours help, 5 days a week. I am flexible on helparrangements and happy for you to do 5 hours a day or, do longer days and take more days off where that works for us all. Usually Monday to Friday would be helping days, but again flexible to suit what works for you too and fits with what tasks need doing.

    Being able to speak good English is essential so that you can understand my daughter and son and they can understand you. Please only apply if your English is good enough to be easily understood. Calm and easy going with a can do attitude works better for us and good spoken English and communication skills are essentail. Please read ALL my profile and email us in English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an experienced host and have had many people staying over the years. We value workaway not just as help, but also for the enrichment of sharing different cultures and having different energy in our house. I have met some amazing people over the past 5 years and some are life long friends now. Workaway is like traveling without leaving your own house because you can meet different people and share experiences together, which is great for you, us and the children.

    I have got workawayers gigs and signposted them to other amazing opportunities as I am very well networked and have great contacts. I have helped volunteers in many ways and what you give out you will get back in karma - we are all connected.

    Other workawayers have learnt vegetarian cookery skills, building skills, artistic opportunities, how to use power tools, shadowed me in my work and attend festivals and gigs on my guest list.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    DIY skills, painting cleaning and house work, childcare (if you have the skills and attributes) practical skills like chopping wood, painting walls and external house, admin, setting up organisation systems, organising space, sewing, dog grooming, artist, building, woodworker, computer skills are all great and that I would welcome some help with.

    Tell me what your good at and enjoy doing as using your strengths is a good starting place - there will be cleaning every time as we like to keep on top of the house work and I like a clean tidy house as much as possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The caravan has just been done up and has a double bed, small table and electricity. It’s basic and cosy with a portapotty camping loo.

    We don't have the Wi-fi on all the time in the house due to health reasons and I don’t want my children on it loads. We turn it off when finished with it so if your big into games and internet (downloading films etc.) and want it on 24/7 we are not the host for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    One workawayer only and someone who is self sufficient and can get out and about at the weekends. Someone who is organised, has initiative, is chilled out, gets stuck in and is understanding and kind with children.

    Frome is a vibrant town with loads to do, markets, live music, groups, art galleries, thriving independent shops in walking distance. It is easy to make friends and other workawyers as lots of people are part of the Workaway culture! Do be warned Frome can suck you in and make it hard to leave!!

    4 weeks minimum stay is ideal and if it works for you and us then we can extend it to longer.

    No smoking please in the house or caravan but happy for you to smoke outside as long as you dont leave the ends all over the garden - thanks and happy travels.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.3)



































Host ref number: 579716991848