Elderly companionship for my mum who lives with us. Family living on the beautiful west coast of Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we're Sandra and Geoff. We live on the beautiful west coast of Scotland in the village of Kilchoan, where we run a small software company. We enjoy cooking, kayaking, sailing and hiking. We live in a small community with a mix of people ranging from crofters to wildlife photographers and where everyone says hello to each other.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the beautiful Ardnamurchan peninsula on the west coast of Scotland, surrounded by islands, mountains and wildlife. It's a small and friendly village, with a shop and local pub where everyone knows each other's name. There is a village regatta, highland games in the summer, and social activities and clubs. We run a busy international business.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help, looking after my mum, Pamela. It would consist of around 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Ideally we are looking for someone to stay 2 to 3 months to give my mum some continuity.

    It would consist of light housework, preparing meals for her, helping her out with fiddly tasks like setting up her audio book and taking her for short walks.

    We already have wonderful carers coming in, in the morning and evening who get mum up and put her to bed.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a single room in the 2 bedroom annex where my mum stays. You would be sharing the kitchen, bathroom and living room with only her. The annex is attached to our house and we'll be at hand if there's anything you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll be surrounded by the great outdoors and plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities. We have kayaks and bicycles you can use. Tobermory is a short ferry ride away. Due to our business, we have a very fast internet connection at the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We run an international internet business . We develop and sell specialist software used to collect and manage scientific material for academic conferences. Happy to learn and discuss any aspect of internet working from managing diverse teams to marketing.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a safe parking spot and we could run an electric cable to your van. We are at the end of 20 miles of single track road with passing spaces, so reversing skills are required. On the plus side, the scenery is stunning and there are plenty of places to explore.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We enjoy having animals around although we do not have pets ourselves. Happy to talk about how we could accomodate your pet if you are bringing one.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 578119947531