Eco home in the stunning Byron Bay hinterland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are have just moved to the Northern Rivers and are looking for helping hands to work with us on our beautiful 5 acre property in the Byron Bay hinterland.

    We are located in a quiet, picturesque spot, near Nimbin, Kyogle, and Cawongla, approximately 45 minutes from Lismore.

    Our land varies between rolling pasture, subtropical rainforest and native food gardens. There is a charming house and separate artist studio, large deck, wood fire oven, and natural pool. We are off-grid, with an excellent solar system, tank water, and very good composting toilet. We wake to birdsong each morning, and are visited by wallabies during the day and fireflies at night!

    While fairly secluded, there are a range of sweet towns nearby, not to mention swimming holes and waterfalls. The property is a stones throw from the stunning Border Ranges National Park, and is also nearby Wollumbim and Nightcap Range National Parks.

    The property is comfortable and picturesque as is, but we have visions of landscaping utilising permaculture principles to expand the vegetable garden and orchid, build some additional space to house guests, and renovate parts of the main house. We would really love to have enthusiastic travellers interested in exchanging skills and knowledge with us, and willing to take a hands on role in contributing to our project!

    We are warm and friendly hosts, who enjoy meeting new people. Jem is an environmental scientist with skills in building and creative problem solving, and a good eye for detail. Manon is a passionate clinical psychologist with a knack for design and cooking, and a love for hiking and running. We have relocated from the city to the Northern Rivers to be surrounded by beauty while pursuing a lifestyle that is slower, more intentional, and sustainable.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have the opportunity to develop a range of skills and learn about off-grid living, while exploring a beautiful part of the world.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with a range of tasks - painting, gardening and landscaping, cleaning, basic maintenance and building. Travellers do not need to have special skills, but we appreciate those who are enthusiastic, energetic, willing to learn, and who also enjoy being outdoors.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travellers will stay in a private studio located on the property. A comfortable queen size bed is provided with linen and towels. The kitchen, bathroom, and living spaces will be shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers can enjoy the local sights, including visiting World Heritage National Parks, waterfalls, and swimming holes. Nearby towns are charming and full of culture. If travellers have an international licence they may be able to borrow a car if not being used, but otherwise the property is fairly isolated.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 577588612668