Help needed with farm, yard,cooking and chores related to raising and training horses near Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 425 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We raise and train horses mostly for trail riding in the mountains near Carstairs, Alberta. In the spring, summer and fall we are quite busy doing chores and working with several young horses a day. When I have time off from my real jobs we pack up the trailer and head for the mountains to ride for a day or two.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an active western Canadian rural lifestyle. Sometimes there is the opportunity to ride or camp in the mountains; to go to Dinosaur National Park. Calgary is an hour away. Opportunity to watch horses working with cattle as well as opportunity to try basic horse handling and riding ( sometimes in the mountains or out west). We ride and work outside year round so plan to dress appropriately and leave all "princess attitudes" at home. I am not here to babysit you, you must be capable of working on your own with minimal direction.

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed on the acreage varies from gardening and general maintenance of the yard (lawn mowing and landscaping) to doing chores (feeding horses, chickens, cats,dog and a few cattle) to cleaning tack, working with young horses,halter training, doing ground work or riding under saddle (usually western though there is english tack as well).
    You must be able to help out in the house as well cooking and keeping the kitchen and living areas clean. Chopping and hauling wood. Snow shovelling. Gardening. Simple greenhouse work (fresh veggies :)
    We try to create a fun environment where we can both teach and Learn new skills. I would love to work on my spanish or dutch! Host’s work schedual is busy so some tasks such as cooking and getting routine chores done will become applicants primary responsibility during their stay. This means you must be able to take instruction and then complete tasks on your own. If you can't cook at least 5 different healthy dishes with meat and vegetables, probably this is not the place for you.
    Volunteers should have some horse experience. Note that you will require your own insurance. You will only be able to do horse back riding if we have a horse suitable for your experience level and you follow our instruction.
    Added note you must be able to lift 35-40 pounds on your own to complete tasks such as saddleing a horse, carrying hay bales and water pails etc. Princesses who have had everything done for them most of their lives or can't do a bit of hard work need not apply!
    Successful workawayers that take the most from our experience are mature, have a work ethic and have a basic to high fitness level. You get from this experience what you put in; the more you work and we get along, the more experiences, on and off the farm, I will attempt to give you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The living accomodations are simple at my house. You will have a small bedroom or cabin to your self and will share the upstairs of the house with me . For meals (we'll share as long as you cook too) and the living area and kitchen are open to you. While we do have air heating, In the fall, spring and winter we usually burn wood stove and you must be willing to learn the skills of chopping wood ,starting, and keeping the fire going
    Shared internet is available but please don't come if you will be glued to the computer!
    There is a cat in the house at times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will provide transportation to and from the Calgary Airport. My home is about 10 km from two small towns. You are welcome to a bicycle (electric) to go to town when you wish. Alternatively, my room mates and I would likely be willing to take you along sometimes when we go. There may be access to Calgary sometimes as I work there during the days. You will not be able to drive my vehicle.

    Within a few hours drive of home, there are many places in the mountains and wilderness to explore including Kananaskis, Drumheller (Dinosaur Park in the Badlands), Ya Ha Tinda, Heritage Park and much more! Banff is about 2 hours away. There are lots of rodeos close by during the summer. Some activities are free to attend some will be at extra cost to you. Calgary Stampede in July.

    Banff offers- skiing, snowboarding, cross country skiing, hiking, gondola rides and other great mountain adventures.

    We are not into parties or loud music and rarely drink alcohol. smoking is aloud outside only. There are three of us in the house and we respect eachother's space. Sometimes we have a meal together,go out or ride but we all lead separate lives.

    You will enjoy your time here if you are a relatively quiet non-party type. Evenings are spent mostly around the acreage enjoying its quiet but often We stay out late getting yard work done so that we can leave home for a few days in the mountains. A motivated hard working person will fit in, a lazy individual will not. If you put alot of effort into the experience and are enjoyable to be around, We will make an effort to show you around to some of the culture and sights of rural Alberta.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of space. Water and electrical.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day maximum

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)










Host ref number: 576128378923