Join our awesome home-based play program, working with our son and speaking French to our daughters. Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 187 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy farming family with young children 4 children (ages 3, 7, 9 and 11 years old) in the Highlands of Scotland.
    We have a WONDERFUL play team working with one of our children and doing AMAZING work helping him. But we need help from some lovely volunteers.

    We live in a beautiful, peaceful part of the world with mountain and loch snearby. We spend our days looking after the children, running a home and running a farm. We are an active outdoorsy family and enjoy, sailing, horseriding, running and skiing, depending on the time of year, when we aren't working. We also play the violin, guitar, piano and celtic harp, so anyone who loves to play an instrument would be greatly welcomed.

    Our first language in English, (but between us we also speak French, Spanish, German and some Swahili ). We thoroughly enjoy communicating in other languages and the children enjoy meeting people from other countries.

    The farm raises shorthorn cows and sheep. We also keep bees and have a project to produce cheese in the future. We also have a sheepdog called Bonnie. Patrick works full time on the farm and Abby works part-time on the farm and also teaches yoga.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We really appreciate help that we have had through Work-away and enjoy showing the volunteers how lovely it is in Scotland. It is good to be able to share time on the farm, with the children and in the beautiful countryside with people from other countries and other professions. Volunteers could improve their English and get to know and love Scotland as we do.

    The area we live in is beautiful and would suit people who enjoy exploring/running/walking in the hills and woods. People who enjoy rural, mountainous beauty would enjoy living in the Cairngorms national park.

  • Help

    Help

    Hey there. Do you really want to do something rewarding? Do you want to make a difference to someone's life. and help them learn to speak and play? It is such a crucial skill, we take it for granted! But it does not come easily to everyone...so sometimes a person need help!

    This is where you come in!
    Do you want to join our AWESOME team of play workers to help one of my children with communication, play and conversation? They are doing AMAZING work and now my child can chat away and play brilliantly because we have been running the program for two years. But we have one more year to go, just to help him the last little bit to full fluency.

    We are looking for someone who is fantastic with children...enthusiastic, kind, patient, dependable and with lots of energy to play. Our home based play-program helps my child get words out in English, and we are looking to find volunteers to help us with that.

    This work suits someone who is really looking for experience working with children. We give you training here before you start the work, so you come away with new knowledge and new skills which are so valuable for you for later work. We follow a structured plan, so that we know where we are going and what we are trying to achieve.

    Also we have three other children who appreciate meeting new people, learning songs in new languages and learning from people from different cultures. We would particularly like someone who is a fluent French speaker who can play with our other three children in French, to help them understand and speak your wonderful language.

    We also need a little help with some extra jobs, like cleaning the car, or tidying up, preparing food or helping in the garden. So whoever is helping us needs to be flexible and happy to help where needed. We also need you to be independent and enjoy time on your own or with other friends as we also need our own space and time together as a family.

    We would ask the volunteer to help up to 5 days a week.
    We can suggest some great things to do, good walks, beautiful areas to visit for your time off. So have courage to go and explore!

    We will need character references for you and work references, from someone whom you work for or who knows you. We also prefer volunteers to stay for at least 3 months as it is too disruptive for the children to meet people for less time.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German, Spanish, some Swahili and Norwegian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A beautiful peaceful environment. The volunteers would sleep independently, either in a flat with a shower-room, kitchenette and living room or at a steading with the same facilities about 10 minutes drive from our house. Volunteers would eat some meals with us and some meals independently and we would provide food (or equivalent money if you prefer to get your own food).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The volunteer could have a use of a car if it is free so you need to be able to drive. We live less than 5 minutes drive away from the nearest town, which has a post office, sports centre, swimming pool, internet café, library and small supermarket. This takes about 20 minutes by bike, which you could borrow. Our previous volunteers and Au Pairs have spent their weekends exploring the beautiful country of Scotland. In the evenings, or during spare time the volunteer can use the local sports centre, go running, horse riding, play golf, mountain bike....this really is an outdoor persons paradise. Look up the area on line - Cairngorms National Park. There is a cinema in Inverness, one in Aviemore and Eden Court is the place to go for theatre, plays, music performances. There is a thriving music scene here too. We look forward to you getting in touch. Also English classes are twice a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours per day, 5 days a week.











Host ref number: 571385952143

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more