Gardeners, Painter/Artist and Carpenters/Handymen and Spanish teacher help that want to enjoy the natural landscape of Caribe, Colombia



Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    I am Canadian, from Vancouver. I have been travelling through, Australia, New Zealand, South America and Costa Rica throught the past ten years. On impulse, I bought a cozy little piece of land in Colombia! Crazy right? Well... the vibe felt right and things connected, so I took the leap and invested.

    Why here you ask? I hear and see the birds, and frogs. Engage with natives, enjoy the natural landscape, culture and so much more. Colombia is diverse, not only in culture but in agriculture. I love waking up and being grateful to live in the beautiful Sierra Nevada Mountains.

    The house is the start of a foundation for many activities. A place to rest one’s head, fill ones belly, learn, share and experiences. In the future I plan to open a cafeteria. Providing natural food made fresh from ingredients straight from the garden. This is where I need your help.

    Sadly, I have no green thumb. I do have lots of land to work with. If you are passionate with gardening then this is your place. I have access to seedlings for grapes, passion fruit, grapefruit, bananas, plantains, herbs, papayas and more. If you understand vertical gardens please come. I can google and watch YouTube videos for tutorials but it’s not the same.
    I have a few of each guayabana, guava, avocado, guma, pineapple, malanga, yuca and one cacao and a coconut tree. Looking to plant more.

    I have a space that tends to flood when raining. If you have experience in making drains would be appreciated. Possibly making this into a fish pond?

    I have the water running. Must boil to drink. Currently the shower is the river out front.

    I would like most of the furniture to be made from recycled wood. So some heavy lifting will be required. Trips to the beach may be planned to collect drift wood as materials. As there are several trees, a daily chore will be raking leaves. Granted this will be rotated.

    In the future I plan to run projects with the local children. Making garbage buckets for along the river. Is one basic idea. We have done clean up days as a community before.

    If you are keen on several of these projects. We can discuss 3 months stay, to set goals and accomplish a few projects.


    **This listing is for one person. Must be able to work independantly at times. This is a place to relax, there is little night life here or places to eat out. It is a place to absorb the energy of Madre Sierra and bask in nature's elements.
    Knowledge of how to use basic tools a bonus ie a machette, drill, saw manual and electric.
    **Basic Spanish is a must if you are going to enjoy here to its fullest with the locals.
    The neighbours here love explaining why they choose to live within nature and hearing about other places. Often invite you in to share a typical plate of the region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At night the sound of the river will lull you to sleep. Here is a place not far from cities, Santa Mart and Rio Hacha, 2 hrs away. Not far from tourism, Palomino, Minca, Park Tayrona, and Cuidad Perdida are places to experience . Here you can feel the energy, slow down, relax, take a breath and enjoy the now.
    Everyday the Kogi natives pass in front of the house. You can go into the mountains from the road directly infront and visit their communities. Often have the chance to buy their popular bags.

  • Help


    Right now I am looking for gardening help. I’d like to plant something every other day. The other days spent collecting and making items for use. For example find plastic bottles for the vertical garden, ask the neighbours, walk the town. Or find beer bottles to make paths. This will often be trips to Palomino beach. There is alot of land to look after, one common shares daily chore will be raking leaves, adding them to the compost, turning the compost and watering the plants. Have you studied planting based on the lunar cycle? Is it a system I am interested in learning. Can you share this? Irrigation? I have photos we can try and follow, just need to share digging a lot of troughs and adding pipes.

    Another task will be collecting rocks from the river. Another way to stay cool when the heat gets to hot. As some people are not accustom to working in the heat, often a day will have 2 focuses. I have had 2 volunteers fall sick to sun stroke. Energetic and pushed too hard. Depending on the strenght of the sun. On over casts day we may do a full day of labour. Of the sun is scorching and there is little shade we may end the days with taking rocks from the river. These will be used for decorations on the house and within the garden.

    Second, basic construction help. Do you have experience? First project working with pallets. I have 80 to make into tables chairs, bed frames and many other things. I have basic tools, saw, and drill. Will be making walls, bathrooms, the kitchen etc… All areas of construction. For example do you know how to raise chickens, looking to build a chicken coop? I am open to looking up a design and agree on one. As long as you understand how to make it.

    Basic Painting/ Artist Just finished adding the roof to the house. Yeah! Now have a lot of grey to paint over. And then we can discuss adding a mural. I will purchase all supplies. Come add some life and vibe to the house

    Looking for someone to provide one on one Spanish lessons, improve my grammar and pronounciation and mixed general help. 5 days a week. 4hrs per day.

    Other skills appreciated: someone willing to share yoga, vegetarian and vegan menu, and mixed general help. (Sorry not a complete meat free environment).

    You can expect to help around
    4 hrs a day 5 days a week. At the moment gardening and construction are the main focuses. But a good set of hands and a willingness to work is greatly appreciated. I seek volunteers who would like to stay 3wks to 1month. Longer stays up to 3months can be discussed.I speak English and okay Spanish. My French is weak but I’d like to learn again.
    It is important to understand basic Spanish. Often work is done with locals who have very little English. I am looking forward to getting to know you. Sharing and learning together. Come spread your positive energy

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Tengo basico español.. quiero hacer mejor. Puedo cambio lecciones de ingles converascion.

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation: bunk bed, tent or hammock, sheets provided. Please bring a sleeping bag if you get cold easily, as it can get cool at night. As mentioned the shower is the river. If you have natural soaps the better. I am looking to learn the process of making natural soap and selling them. Great if you know how to make them. I have a dry toilet out back, no flush, just wood shavings. Yes natural for now.

    Rio Ancho is about 2hrs from Santa Marta. Make sure you get on a bus going to Rio Hacha or Maico, get off one stop after Palomino. If you don’t ask most buses stop at Palomino and then you have to make another connection to Rio Ancho. Cost of transportation not included

    Lunch will be provided. varies from sandwiches to soups to typical food here rice and beans with salad and portion of protein. Breakfasts and dinners well be communal or you can choose to eat in town or cook solo. The kitchen is available to use.

    At the moment only Claro phone company works in this town. SIM cards can bought in several stores in town. There is an internet shop in town, open almost everyday.

    As for cash machine. Mingeuo the town over has a machine. It general cost $5mil pesos each way. You can purchase groceries at one store in town by credit card if you need to stock up on snacks and basics.

    Please be aware that this is the jungle yes there are insects, spiders, snakes, poisonous ones too, scorpions, and ticks, so take precautions, bring boots if you have them, long sleeves shirts, long pants ( I had to buy some after 3 days. Bug repellent, NoPicka, works well. The days can be hot and humid average 30 degrees. If we can, I like to start the day early, on the task by 6/7am, before the heat. If needed, some tasks may be done at split times. Start in the morning and finish later in the day. Refreshments will be provided throughout the day.

    List of things to bring: not limited to

    Tent and Sleeping Mat (if you prefer your own)

    Sleeping bag

    Long sleeve blouse and pants

    High rubber boots

    Solar lamp or flashlight



    Refillable water bottle

    Rain Jacket

    Bug repellent


  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can enjoy the river, walk up into the Sierra Navada. There is an indigenous community that are open to tours.
    There are several natural water pools and waterfalls with 30minutes to a few hours walk from the town. Althought I dont know where all are, several locals know and would love to show you. Great way to know a place as they do. They will show where its safe to dive in from and usually what fruits you can eat along the way. So test you spanish and see the town through their eyes.

    Go to palomino and enjoy the beach. There is transport in the night but kind of adventours. Usua5ll involves bartering for a price to stand in the front of a bus. If your ok with that you can usual get transport till 11:30pm/2:30am
    To around 6pm there are the local taxis and motorbikes. After sunset prices increase as options decrease. So plan your return from Palomino based on this.

    Trips may be organized as a group to go to Cabo de Vella. The tourist beach town palomino is less than 20mins away and costs about $2USD each way. There is also another beach 6Km away the Gaviotas. Need to pay for a Moto taxi, be sure to get a number for a pickup or arrange a time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 567673343365