Come and help our family with personal projects and learn Spanish near Nerja, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Naya I'm a young mother of two boys aged eight and six. I live in a house on the Countryside on the coast of Malaga in a little town called Maro. I have a big garden with avocado trees and I live in a nice community of neighbors and Friends created by us as a result of our good work together. Close to my house is also a communal land with different activities such as communal garden and communal chicken yard and communal food. I'm highly involved with this group, so there is a lot to learn about community and good chances to make friends and have a good time around the fire with nice people. the beaches are from walking distance to where we live

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're looking to learn Spanish I'm fluent in Spanish and quite good correcting people if they want me to. Besides the language here you will learn about our off-grid lifestyle and about living in community shortly said. if you have any questions I'm happy to answer.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a few personal projects that I would like to start as it is always easier for me to work when I have someone else to work with.
    I would really like to build a High bed for my two boys in the bedroom, a bed attached to the wall and with some pillars to hold it. Everything made out of wood that I prefer recycled such as pallets and other rest wood.
    Also I would like to build a little wooden playhouse for my kids in a fallen tree in my garden.
    For theese specific projects I dream about receiving a creative volunteer with capinter skills, selflearned or with studies I don't mind.. But would be nice to get someone that I can learn from to make a nice long lasting good quality job.
    Besides those creative projects I also need minor maintenance projects such as putting up a fence with cane, putting in water system, plant and to paint my guest room. Finally if you like gardening I also dream about starting a little garden even though this is not a high priority as I'm participating in the communal garden of my community and my neighbors and close friends are permaculture gardeners and have many things fresh from their Garden. if you are an artist and dream about helping people with art projects I actually have like three walls that I would like to make a beautiful wall paint on, and the ideas doesn't really seem to come to me right now even though I'm a creative person.

    Some people are generally sure about how they want things done, I'm the opposite, I usually have an idea but I'm very interested in being inspired from other people's ideas in order to learn something new which is why I like the idea of having a volunteer. I have quite a lot of experience in receiving different volunteers. Mostly positive.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two different types of accommodation, one is a campervan that I used to live in with my two boys before I got the house. It's very cozy beautiful and comfortable made out of wood on the inside with plenty of private space. The other option is my guest room in one end of my house. My electricity is a solar system, which means that it is a basic system allowing us to have light and charge our phones and computers but use less electricity in the night or on a rainy day which luckily we have very few of. Also being careful using blenders and some electric Tool's. My shower is also based on a homemade solar system with a pump which means that to make sure you have a hot shower in the winter you have to shower in the daytime. But I will soon put up a normal gas based shower. I don't have wifi.
    I don't have a washing machine, I wash my clothes at the gas station.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For me the experience of receiving a volunteer is an opportunity to co work and live for a short time with someone I didnt know from before. We can both learn many things, end up becoming friends for life (have happened before 😊) or just to have a positive learning in our lives.
    I'm still learning about my own limits and space so every time I meet someone new I get to test where I am in that. That's interesting. Also I'm done with some experiences such as feeling like I'm babysitting someone if you know what I mean 😁
    This is why I'm looking for independent people that can work with me and also can work on their own as I'm going away to my job every weekday morning and I have my kids 4 days a week and will be attending them.

    I like to talk and have a good chat but also to respect the moments of privacy and silence and me attending my kids, I really like we can be respectful around each other asking if things are okay and about each other's needs in that moment.
    Smoking is permitted outside but I would prefer not in excess nor major amount of marijuana if possible.
    On the work away page it says work around 5 hours a day except weekends. I'm okay with 4 hours a day if you actually work, 😉
    I have experienced that sometimes when friendship occurs between host and volunteers there is a fine line between work and socialising that does that the work hours are not always respected. This is a mistake I frequently have made as I'm a person that usually make friends with my volunteers, so I would really appreciate if you have this in mind.

    If you need to go to town Nerja is at half an hour walking distance from a small turistic but beautiful town with restaurants and shops.

    If you like hiking or walks in the mountain this area is a perfect opportunity for that, it is situated in the beginning of a natural park with beautiful beaches and views. Maro town is also charming and closer, but with only few food shops and restaurants. Almost everyone coming here wants to stay... ❤

    Please ask questions if you have any doubts. Also I'm not always available to recieving volunteers if I have family or friends to visit. But hopefully we can make it work. Looking forward to meet you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 565411736558