Enjoy being with horses in Much, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 292 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a small horse farm on which 5 horses on 3 hectares of pasture land can currently enjoy their existence. Older and sick horses also find a home here, so horse care plays an important role. The support of animal welfare is a concern of ours. So both our two dogs Thiras and Hanno as well as the two cats Rufus and Tarca come from the animal protection. Help and commitment are needed here.
    Furthermore, we have a small vegetable garden, so that we can feed ourselves in the summer months mainly self-sufficient. A chicken enclosure is to be added soon.
    We need help with the day-to-day tasks as well as with smaller, mostly craft projects, such as the construction of the chicken pen. For now we are renovating a room for the workawayers and also a flat, so manual skills would be really helpful at this time.
    My main job is primary school teacher, which means I´m not at the farm in the morning. During the week you have to do the most part of the daily work on your own, but the tasks are not difficult and so far it wasn´t a problem for the workawayers. In the afternoon and at the weekends I do farmwork too. So there is also time for working together, conversation und practising languages.
    This is a good place for peope who prefer places close to nature and/or want to have a time out from citylife. On the other hand daytrips to cities such as Cologne and Bonn offer a good variety in the freetime. Experienced rider can do horsebackriding a few times a week. Also its possible to explore the area by cycling.

    Dies ist ein kleiner Pferdehof, auf dem zur Zeit 5 Pferde auf 3 ha Weideland ihr Dasein artgerecht genießen können. Auch ältere und kranke Pferde finden hier ein zu Hause, so dass die Pferdepflege eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Hier wird Hilfe und Engagement benötigt. Die Unterstützung des Tierschutzes liegt mir sehr am Herzen. So kommen sowohl meine zwei Hunde Thiras und Hanno als auch die zwei Katzen Rufus und Tarca aus dem Tierschutz.
    Weiterhin habe ich einen kleinen Gemüsegarten, so dass wir uns in den Sommmermonaten teilweise selbstversorgend ernähren können. Ein Hühnergehege soll demnächst hinzukommen.
    Ich benötige Hilfe bei der Verrichtung der alltäglichen Aufgaben sowie bei kleineren, meist handwerklichen Projekten, wie z.B. dem Bau des Hühnergeheges. Zur Zeit renovieren wir gerade eine Wohnung und das Zimmer für die Workawayer. Daher sind Helfer mit handwerklichen Fähigkeiten momentan stark gefragt.
    Hauptberuflich bin ich Grundschullehrerin und während der Woche vormittags nicht da. Das heißt viele der täglichen Arbeiten müsst ihr alleine erledigen. Ihr solltet daher kein Problem damit haben, selbständig zu arbeiten und an einem ruhigen Ort alleine zu sein. Bisher war es auch kein Problem, da die Aufgaben nicht schwierig sind. Nachmittags und am frühen Abend erledige ich auch Farmarbeiten und wir können zusammen arbeiten und die Sprachen Englisch und Deutsch praktizieren.
    Dies ist ein geeigneter Ort für Leute, die ruhige, naturnahe Orte bevorzugen oder sich eine Auszeit vom Stadtleben gönnen wollen. Andererseits bieten Ausflüge in die nahegelegenen Städte wie Köln und Bonn in der Freizeit eine gute Abwechslung. Für reiterfahrene Leute sind regelmäßige Ausritte in die schöne bergische Landschaft möglich. Die Erkundung der Umgebung mit Fahrrad besteht natürlich auch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you can learn gardening, maintenance, cooking with seasonal vegetables, catering for horses, education of dogs, practise horsemanship, horsebackriding, exploring the countryside
    practise Englisch and German

  • Help

    Help

    cleaning horsestables, care for ill horses, remove weed, walking the dogs, gardening, harvest, maintenance, cooking meals incl. cleaning up, helping with housework, small repair projects

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    room in house

    Raum im Haus

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    pick up from airport Cologne/Bonn or train station in Siegburg
    for visit and sight seeing in cities such as Cologne (50 km), Bonn (40 km), Düsseldorf (60 km), Siegburg (20 km) take public transport near from farm by bus to local towns and to Siegburg and further on by train to Cologne or Bonn
    visit Germanys oldest national Park "Siebengebirge" and its famous little mountain "Drachenfels" close to Bonn
    visit, also biking to typical small historical towns with castles in the area (Blankenberg, Nümbrecht, ect. ), biking along the river "Sieg" or in the Middle Rhine Valley,
    visit Panarbora, NRW´s biggest high-tree-forest-walk
    exploring the countryside by bike, hiking, kayaking
    during the stay here its also possible to take 2- or 3day trips through Germany or Netherlands to bigger cities such as Munich, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Berlin, Amsterdam, Brüssel by "flix bus"

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 564967161556