1 / 5

Enjoy the sounds of the forest and help me build an art studio in Valdivia, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a multidisciplinary artist living in the Valdivian forest (Selva Valdiviana). The place is located in Cutipay, very close to Niebla. I've been here for a bit over a year and I'm still restoring and building the place. The projects for this season (october-december 2022) are the construction of the green house, the pottery studio/storage shed and the regular work in the forest (paths, weeding, etc.). The house and cabin overlook isla Mancera and isla del Rey, and the only sounds are from the forest (with the occasional ship passing far away), and of course of the music of our choosing ;)
    I currently don't have any locally paid staff currently employed. All things up to this point have been done by me and the occasional help of friends. I'm excited to welcome workawayers, as I have always been on the other side of the deal, as a workawayer myself ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love the culture exchange that happens when one gets to spend time with people from different backgrounds while traveling. For many years (before the pandemic) I had many opportunities to meet interesting individuals and live meaningful cultural exchanges through Workaway and Couchsurfing. I have lived in seven countries and traveled around other 40. Consequently, I am blessed to have many friends around the world, whose unique backgrounds (and cultures) have greatly impacted my life and worldviews.
    Even being fairly new in this part of Chile I can share with you what I know from the traditions, history, and culture from here. The Valdivian forest is a temperate rainforest considered one of the oldest in the planet one of the 34 most biodiverse parts of the planet.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now I am in the early stages of building a small art studio. With this I would mostly need help. There are other projects I will be doing the few months and might also need some help. Some of these small ongoing projects are: processing clay for my pottery work; Gardening; Path maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will be staying in a cabin for themselves with a private room. Only one to three workawayers can stay at a time. I will provide all meals, except when you are outside the house by yourself. I will probably cook most breakfasts and lunches, and you are also welcome to cook if you want. The cabin you will be staying has a fully equipped kitchen that you can also use. I will leave it with some basic foods for you. If you are around on your days off you are welcome to eat with me as well. I have no problem accommodating different diets so please let me know if you are vegetarian, vegan, have any allergies or other.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers can do lots of things in their free time. To reach the main road workawayers need to walk down the road (20-30 min), or I can give them a ride. The bus stops to go either to Valdivia or to the other side through the coastal road are right at the entrance of the road up to the house. There are many small towns, natural reserves, and beaches you could visit and enjoy. Depending on what I have to do I can join you and we can even travel farther away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 564711836141

Photos

Feedback

Paragliding project, building glamping spots in Lican Ray, Chile
Help us develop our mountain retreat and create orchard, and nursery in Pucon, Chile