Help me renovate an 18th-century farm in Midi Pyrenees, South West of France




Favourited 230 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Update from March 2022

    Hello Everybody,

    Sorry to haven't been on workaway during the last two years, (didn't even think it was working with the covid pandemic) and if I haven't answered messages. I don't know why but workaway platform nerver forward the first message I receive from travellers to my email (I only get notifications when the discussion is already engaged)...
    Anyway, the project has progressed a lot and there is always something to do:
    in the garden: landscaping, cleaning, cutting trees, planting, building a pergola...
    in the house: redo a bathroom, a bit of electricity, make some shelves, build a library, do some closets, make some curtains and some doors...
    Skills in wood, electricity, tiling, sewing, gardening and cooking are higly welcome, but there is nothing really complicated to do here, just a lot of projects...
    But mostly outside help at this period of time!!
    I cook simple family food, everything and every kind! I have animals, 3 cats and a dog. I'm vaccinated and would love to have you here if you are too.
    I can host until 2 people. Please make sure that you fit with the life style here before to apply. Sorry to say that but you wouldn't believe the amount of people allergic to animals, dust and polen with a strict diet who contact me!!

    Looking forward to meet you soon and to share with you a fun and productive experience.

    Best wishes,

    I moved in 2012 in the region, after spending 40 years in Paris and 2 years in Kenya. I'm an easy going person, open to other cultures. Worked in media, films production and scripts translation, interested in arts, literature and politics. I am opening now a new chapter of my life in renovating a farm of the 18th century to make it a guest house holding artisitic workshops. Plenty to do here and help would be very welcome. The place is quiet, comfortable and beautiful for people who like coutryside and outdoors activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak French and English. Much to discover in this rural and historic area. The site is located in the countryside near villages with restaurants, cafes, supermarkets and local markets. Alive cultural area: concerts, gastronomy ... Possibility of hiking, swimming in a nearby lake. Of course, Winter season is more quite and not very appropriate for swimming,.. Local markets during the weekend are the main social events in this period of the year,. Around Christmas, the churches are often holding classical concerts. For those who'd like to use their free time to explore more, there is a bus agency at 5 km which organises affordable day trip around: Christmas markets, Toulouse, Cabaret show... We can also drop you to the Penne's station for a day trip to Bordeaux or Toulouse and pick you up.

  • Help


    The main work and the second work are almost finished, remain the finishes: paintings, fitting of closets, doors manufacture, wooden floor vitrification, creation of gardens, maintenance of the green spaces, creation of a vegetable garden, etc ... Carpentry and gardening skills would be highly apreciated!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Independant accomodation. No tv but plenty of DVD, free wifi.
    Logement indépendant. Pas de télévision mais beaucoup de DVD, internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside, we have 4 cats and a dog and we eat meat, not much, but we do, as fish, eggs, cream, etc.... Please don't apply if you are allergic to dust, animals, hay and don't eat meat. We are sorry, but have too much work here to cook specific diets and life will be a nightmare for you here if you are suffering from allergies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 394265913396