Discover the countryside while spending time helping with my little child and with daily life in Abruzzo, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Anna, I left the city to breathe clean air and enjoy long walks in nature every day. Now I live in Abruzzo, a land rich in biodiversity and breathtaking landscapes in the heart of Italy. I am in the little and ancient village of Roccamorice (900 inhabitants), we live in a stone house that I love so much and from one side you can look the distant sea, on the other side the magnificence of the nearby mountains.

    With me there is little Thea and her father, Pablo, who takes also care of the vegetable garden and the animals.

    I am a Sagittarius, I like to travel and make my land known. I find that being a Workaway host is a great way to meeting new people and their cultures and in the meanwhile to receive the important help that is necessary everyday with little childs.

    We are looking for people who want to be part of our family, even if only for a short time the important thing is the quality of that time and we are pleased when you feel at home and useful.

    *** Right now we are looking for help from after September 20th ***

    Ideal length of stay: 2 or even better 3 weeks

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The more authentic benefit from a cultural exchange with us is living the italian experience with people who have chosen to live far from the cities, buying from local markets or eating the products of their own garden, raising their child in nature. We offer the opportunity to meet and make friends with locals outside of the main tourist areas, to get a real feel for the people & culture.

    But also:
    • a piano and a guitar that you can play whenever you want;
    • the opportunity to practice Italian;
    • the opportunity to get to know Italian cuisine and learn how to cook: pasta, pizza, risotto, soups and many other goodies, the simplest are usually the best.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required consists in staying with me and with little Thea of 1 years old, walking and playing with her for 4 hours at day and helping us doing home improvement work.

    The typical day is more or less like this:

    Thea wake up around 7:00 and she stays with me until 9:00. You can sleep and start your work day at 9 and start by going for a walk with Thea until 10:30. Then come back because Thea needs a snack and then you can play with her in the garden or inside the home with musical instruments, spending joyful time with Thea until 13:00. Then we have lunch all together, we prepare the lunch for you and after lunch you clean the kitchen (put the dishes in the dishwasher, wash any used pans, clean Thea's high chair, sweep to the ground). After lunch you are free until about 5pm, then, if you want, you can go out with us for walks, creative activities, yoga, gardening, tourist visits or for simple errands. Then we ask help when preparing food for diner and, if we go out to eat, we ask you not to be passive but to help us as much as possible with the management of the child. In general we ask you not to be lazy but understand that we are new parents who need a hand and we are very grateful and feel lucky to receive it. After diner you clean the kitchen as after lunch, usually it takes about 20 minutes. In the evening it's me or Pablo that put Thea to sleep and wake up if she needs us at night. Your day will start again the next day at 9. But... Not every day is the same and we try not to get bored!

    The more you can help us have our time in the morning, the easier it will be in the afternoon for us being able to organize amazing trips together, from ancient villages to caves, from rivers to castles. Abruzzo offers many beauties and wild places to discover together and we like to show you.

    As for house cleaning, we need daily help in cleaning the kitchen, after lunch and after dinner. We will not ask you to clean rooms, floors, sanitary ware, wash cloths etc... but every time you can help in keeping the house clean and tidy is very appreciated! For example, helping us to keep Thea's toys in their binders and anything else to collect and arrange to keep the rooms tidy.

    FREE TIME
    You have 2 days off a week that you can use however you want and we can also plan activities and visits together. One of these days is chosen by us based on grandmother's availability.
    If you want to go to the sea of Pescara there is a bus very early in the morning (6:30 am) and in a hour and half you are on the first beach. If you want to spend more time at the sea and reach more beautiful and wild beaches let us know, we can help you find a cheap hotel (at your expense) and give you the information you need to enjoy the Abruzzo sea of ​​the Trabocchi coast. You can also plan a two days visit to Rome (about 3 hours of travel), always at your expense but with our help.

    This is the ideal experience if:
    - you want to dedicate your time and energies to improve the life of new parents, giving them the opportunity to do what they need for theirselves, the work of for house keeping;
    - you really like the idea to stay long time with a child, you don't get bored of childs, you think you'll feel joyfull in staying with the little Thea;
    - you start the day with a smile and feel glad, how we feel also, of the opportunity every day we have to live in this mad beautiful world :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a delightful and bright single room with a three-quarter bed.
    Shared bathroom on the bedroom floor and another bathroom for everyone on the ground floor. Internet access throughout the house. Green spaces in abundance.

    I generally cook every day but if you like to cook, you are welcome too. The kitchen is very large and it is always at your disposal! You will eat genuine and local food, we will have fun cooking it, you can request changes or suggest recipes. I love to cook and if you want to learn Italian cuisine I will be happy to share my experience with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Roccamorice, a small village within the Majella National Park. If you are looking for the nightlife it is not here, this is the ideal place to connect with the territory and live an authentic Italian experience, where time passes slower and every day is special.

    The house is surrounded by greenery. You easily have the opportunity to take walks in the mountains, trips to the river, horseback riding, and the opportunity to practice trekking and climbing.

    The more you can help us have our time in the morning, the easier it will be in the afternoon for us being able to organize trips together, from ancient villages to caves, from woods to castles. Abruzzo offers many beauties and wild places to discover together.

    Below is a small list of some of the places we can visit together.
    Very near us there are very suggestive places such as the hermitage of San Bartolomeo, the ancient village of Fara san Martino, the Orfento valley, the Trabocchi coast for a wild sea, the mountains of Gran Sasso, Monte Amaro, the Monti della Laga, Lake Scanno, The plain of Campo Imperatore called the small Tibet, the medieval village of Santo Stefano di Sessanio and Rocca Calascio, the Stiffe Caves, Alba fucens, the Lavino park with its emerald waters.

    We have a network of friends composed by artists, permaculturists, holistic therapists. Contact me for more information, ask me your questions for better plan your trip and your experience in Italy.

    THANK YOU :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 469644148253