Come and help us around our home in Houston, Texas!

Country

United States

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    236

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Howdy from Texas! We love meeting new people and sharing experiences, and are have a great living space for those visiting...a private two room suite with it's own bathroom. Located in central Houston and close to public transportation. We are a family of 5. There is myself and my spouse, as well as three boys, aged 8, 6, and 2. I stay at home and educate the children (among the myriad other tasks of running a home), but in the past have been a social worker, science teacher, and briefly, a cooking instructor. I love teaching and will happily pass whatever I can along. My husband is in banking and finance and can teach you how to manage your money for the future. Houston is a very diverse city in southeastern Texas. Summers are HOT, but winters are mild and you can participate in outdoor activities year round. One main draw is the Rodeo and Livestock show which runs late February-March. See cowboys do their thing, and enjoy top notch concerts to boot (think CardiB, Panic at the Disco, Keith Urban, etc.). As for our family culture - we enjoy sports, board games, travel, and good food.

    (Small note: We left a young lady an unfavorable review because she did not show up. She responded with her own review that has false information - we did not have a dirty room or ask her to care for our child 7 hours a day. Feel free to ask us anything you like about this or other things when seeking availability.)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a kind, hospitable, patient family. Not shy to answer your questions or point you in the right direction. Not to mention we can teach you to cook, manage your finances, and practice your English.

  • Help

    Help

    We just need help keeping this place put together! Fold laundry, help prep meals, wash dishes, tidy up, etc. We also need help with home repairs at times, as well as our vegetable gardens and flower beds.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Mandarin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    WHAT YOU GET IN RETURN:

    Enjoy the comforts of a beautiful modern family home.
    Own private mini suite, has separate entrance.
    En-suite private bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi tub.
    Private fridge & microwave.
    Flat screen TV.
    Free access to fast Wi-Fi.
    ALL meals and supplies are included.
    Books and DVDs to borrow as you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Houston is the most diverse city in the United States. It has several museums and a wonderful zoo. Lots of large, outdoor public places. There are quite a few free theatrical performances, especially during summer. We have a vibrant dining scene - you can enjoy everything from authentic Vietnamese to Afghani or Nigerian food. The mild winter makes it easy to enjoy outdoor activity for most of the year. We live very close to a bus stop for public transportation. Galveston beach and Kemah Boardwalk/NASA are close by if you need to escape for a day. The annual Art Car Parade in April is always a blast.

    Our home is a 10 minute drive from downtown as well as all the best shopping and dining areas. We are also a walkable distance to several restaurants, a movie theater, and some night time venues. Walmart is a 3 minute walk from our house, and it's open 24 hours. If you're coming to Houston, we're in one of the best locations.

    You will have weekends to yourself to explore TX and the USA. Cities close by you can feasibly visit in a weekend are Austin and San Antonio (2.5hr drive), South Padre Island, Dallas, Ft. Worth and New Orleans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 562997959193