Become part of our family and help us with organising our home in Seattle, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 271 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 living in Seattle on the west coast (Washington State) of the USA. Hector is from Mexico and Krisanne grew up in Minnesota, USA. We have three boys ages 15, 12 and 9. Seattle is a beautiful city on the Puget Sound (Pacific Ocean is not far away). We have mountains, water (many beaches) and natural beauty all around. Our home is in North Seattle (about 7 miles from downtown) and it is easy to get around on the bus and or lightrail. We have a yard and garden. Both Hector and Krisanne are self-employed. Krisanne works from home and is a Real Estate agent and Hector has a small concrete finishing business, for which Krisanne does the scheduling and bookkeeping.

    Seattle has many different neighborhoods to explore. It has arts, culture and nature. The ferries run to the San Juan islands for weekend trips or just hang out in one of many local coffee shops (if you have a vaccine card). We are a laid- back family and love to share experiences with travelers. You do NOT need the vaccine to stay with us, however, it may limit what indoor activities you can explore on your own in the city.

    We are currently looking for a single person to help us (primarily Krisanne) deep clean the house, organize and purge out things that are no longer needed, both indoors and outdoors. The plan is to go through every closet and drawer to clean and organize it. You will be working with Krisanne as decisions are made as to what to keep or not. Krisanne may work with you sometimes, but other times, you will need to act independently to clean and then reorganize an area. We even may do some painting, so if you have experience with that, it is helpful but not necessary. It is also very beneficial if you can drive and have a valid driver's license. You may need to run some errands or bring items to the thrift store, etc.

    This is an exchange for someone who is very detail oriented, who likes organizing & cleaning, and enjoys working together to accomplish a goal.

    Our preference is for someone who is 21+ years old (not required, but gives the person more freedom to go out, etc.), feels comfortable taking the bus to see attractions, feels comfortable driving in the city, speaks English well enough to communicate, and is a self-motivated person.

    We prefer someone who is a native Spanish speaker (but not required). Hector is from Mexico, but he does not speak Spanish with the boys and part of the responsibilities might be to practice Spanish homework or speaking with our boys.

    Some responsibilities may include (we can talk about this all and it might change daily):
    - Emptying, cleaning and organizing closets, drawers, etc.
    - Deep cleaning (Scrubbing walls, baseboards, windows. etc.)
    - Painting (maybe)
    - Running Errands with the car
    - Help clean-up/dishes after meals
    - Possible yardwork/garden work/weeding
    - Organize the garage and help Hector organize his contractor stuff (maybe)
    - If Spanish speaking, practice speaking Spanish with our boys or even sit down to practice with them daily with what they are studying (Spanish tutor).

    We are looking for a person who will feel comfortable exploring the city independently. We will be happy to show some areas of Seattle, but we may not take you to all the tourist sites. I will help you plan good places to see/visit, depending on your interests. There are also websites with many activities for different interests, for which you can inquire and it is a good way to meet new people. Also, to meet people in Seattle with similar interest and to get out and socialize with like-minded people, check out Meetup website (ask for website address) for Seattle. There are various groups that you can meet up with, according to your interests.

    We are very laid back and easy going. We are easy to get along with and encourage open communication about likes, needs, etc. You will have a true cultural experience and be able to experience the daily routines of our family and be included as a family member.

    Details for the work-away opportunity: 5 hours a day/5 days a week contributing to the tasks and the rest of the time is your free time. You may have weekends to explore the city or just hang out unless you would like to continue on any specific task, then we will work out other free time. We are flexible and very accommodating if you have your own specific plans. We won't have a set schedule every day. We are looking for someone who is self-initiating and can entertain themselves with their own hobbies and interests, and yet is willing and able to step-up and help with a joyful spirit when needed and integrate with the family.

    Accommodations: We will provide the food and room. I will not cook every meal, but you are welcome to help yourself or cook something for yourself, especially for breakfast and lunch. The room will be in our rental accommodation and we will block those dates that you are with us. You will have a private bathroom and bedroom. It is spacious area and has a desk, sofa, TV, etc.

    Thank you! If you have detail-oriented qualities and think this opportunity would interest you, please contact us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    One who stays with us will see what a typical family routine is like in the United States and it will give someone the opportunity to see what it takes to run a household. We enjoy sharing ideas with people of other cultures and we have many interesting conversations with our guests.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help deep cleaning the house (scrubbing walls, inside closets, baseboards, etc.), organizing closets & drawers (and helping decide what to keep and get rid of), basic everyday house cleaning, possibly some cooking (but not necessary) and possibly some help painting. If you are Spanish speaking, some language practice with our boys.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private space with a private bathroom. The bathroom is small, but you can also use the bathroom/toilets of the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have internet access. We try to eat healthy food. If the volunteer could make some meals from their country, that would be appreciated as part of the cultural exchange. No smoking in the home, please. We don't have pets. We do eat meat, but would welcome a vegan (we have hosted them before) and can make accommodations with the food. We often cook vegetarian as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high-speed wifi. If you need absolute silence to do your work or have meetings, that may or may not be available. When the kids are in school, the house is pretty quiet, but I work from home and my husband is in-and-out.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is street parking or we can make space in the driveway. No huge motorhomes, but a campervan would be fine.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If we would accept a pet would depend on what the pet was. We would not accept more than one pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day 5 days a week











Host ref number: 562841722966