Help in our small holding & building some quirky accommodation! in Blairgowrie, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 311 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a couple in our late 30's and have a small holding in rural Perthshire with a few projects on the go that we need help with:

    - Converting part of the house to a self contained apartment
    - Building an large shed
    - Managing a large vegetable plot
    - Help with daily chores for the horses, goats, sheep, dogs, cat and chickens and the running of the small holding.
    - Workawayers are invited to live with us as family which means shared daily chores such as washing up etc - plus are asked to keep their own room and bathroom clean.

    Adam is managing the renovation of the house and is doing a lot of the work himself so you will most likely be working with him.

    Rosie works part time for a social enterprise and the rest of the time as an Outdoor Activity provider.

    Both love the outside and are passionate about the environment and sustainable living - we ask workaways to respect this and live an eco-friendly lifestyle too whilst staying with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you love open spaces, fresh air and want to learn about rural living - or wish to explore the beauty that is wild Scotland - then this is the place for you. There is also easy access to the large cities for culture and arts.
    Rosie is a walk and cycle leader and a keen open water swimmer and would happily take you out to experience these and to discover the beautiful surrounding areas.
    Both Rosie and Adam are keen to learn more gardening skills and Rosie would love to learn about food from other cultures plus would love to learn to sew!

  • Help


    This may suit a couple or a two friends who have skills to cover a few of the tasks.
    You can pick a project that takes your fancy - but you must be flexible to help with other daily chores too.
    We require DIY skills for the house renovation and gardening/labouring for the garden re-design. (working alongside Adam or trade etc so an opportunity to learn new skills)
    There are also general grounds maintenance projects such as log chopping, leaf gathering, kindling gathering, gutter clearing etc.
    On rainy days there's always things to do inside including household chores.
    There are also crafty projects such as curtain, cushion cover making (Rosie would love to learn how to do this!) plus preserving and jam making etc.
    An additional fun thing we want help with is to continue training the goats to go for walks on the lead if you fancy taking on that task!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    There is a twin room available (push the beds together for couples!) .
    Workawayers have a bathroom to themselves.
    There is a separate sitting room to use if you would like some space to yourself.
    Rosie is a keen cook and will happily provide food to suit any dietary needs.
    Dinner will be provided daily - plus breakfast and lunch will be available to help yourself to (We are happy to get any food in to suit your tastes but we mostly eat a vegetarian diet)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural area 3 miles from a town and in a very quiet location.
    There is no public transport from the house but we can drop you into the local town in your free time and there is are great bus links to the other towns.
    The local town has a large super market, cafes (with wifi) and restaurants, local craft shops plus a deli with local and speciality foods and lots of different local gins and whiskys.
    We can also drop you to a train station for easy day trips to the famous cities of Edinburgh or Glasgow or to the national parks for more wilderness exploring.
    The area is perfect for exploring the great outdoors and truly being away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Trail running, walking, cycling, kayaking and open water swimming are some of our favourites - but the area lends itself to all outdoor activities. We have two mountain bikes for workaways to use in their spare time.
    There are many local castles, historic towns and places of historic and cultural interest nearby - plus lots of seasonal events happening throughout the year including traditional highland games. Local larger towns offer theatres, cinemas, concerts and museums.
    We are eco-conscious in our living and expect volunteers to respect this.
    We have no television but have DVDs.
    We have internet - but it's limited so we advise guests to use local cafes with free wifi on their days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 559595566624