Join our family and explore Battaramulle, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

updated  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are mother, daughter (15 years) and dog and have recently settled in Sri Lanka.
    We come from Germany and have lived in different countries (Brazil, Guinea Bissau, Ireland and Mozambique). We are used to live together with other people and we always find it very enriching.
    Barbara works in the civil peace service in Colombo, Leonie goes to the Overseas School of Colombo and our Labrador is our loyal companion.
    We speak German, Portuguese, English and a little bit of French.
    We have a large house with a garden, pool and a view over the paddy fields.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For us, the focus is on intercultural exchange and getting to know and togetherness. Sri Lanka speaks for itself, but we don't have many tips to offer yet.
    We like to have a cozy, quiet home so that we can explore the area from there.
    We have lived with volunteers several times and that was very relaxed and inriching!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who would like to live with us for a while (preferably several weeks / months) and mainly helps Leonie to get used to the new school. Leonie comes from the Waldorf School (Rudolf Steiner School) and was there in the 10th grade. Now she mainly needs support in maths but also with her homework in the other subjects, as she is not used to have lessons in English.
    That means it would be important that you could do the assignments with her in the late afternoon and evening as well as occasionally on the weekend and prepare her for class.
    Maybe there is still a thing or two to do in and around the house (design the garden a bit) or on the PC and we look forward to vegetarian culinary surprises! If you like to be artistically active and want to teach us something (painting, taking photos, singing, ukulele ...) that would also be a nice opportunity for exchange!
    Let us know what you have to share!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As a workawayer, you will have your own large room with air conditioning and a bathroom. We will cook together. We eat vegetarian and try to use local or organically grown food and eat healthily. We are non-smokers.
    We have a large, relatively new house with a large garden and pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Battaramulle, in the greater Colombo area.
    Public transport from the three-wheeler / Tuc Tuc via UBER, train etc is all available.
    We also have bicycles. Colombo can be explored or used as a starting point for trips to the beach or inland. The immigration office for visa issues is in the area.
    If you have specific questions, we will try to answer them for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 559334526426