Help around the house and garden in the suburbs of Sydney, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in the suburbs of Sydney and am looking for help around the house and garden and sometimes with my computer. It is about 1/2 hour by train from central Sydeny and about 10 minutes walk from the station to my house. There is a bus to my house but only hourly (half hourly at peak travel times). Trains go into the city at least every 10 minutes - often more than that.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sydney is a great place to visit. When I can I take my helpers on a trip around some nice parts of Sydney and am happy to help with language.

  • Help

    Help

    Before you read further - I only take Non-smokers (meaning you do not smoke at all - not that you smoke outside). I cannot do scents, particularly old spice and lynx.

    If you fulfil these criteria please read on.

    Being a helper means doing any job (within reason) that your host asks of you so if there is something that you can't do - ie, bad back, then it would be good to tell me first so I can think of jobs that might suit you better.

    I am in need of people who are happy to weed and do odd jobs inside and outside the house, including help with the computer when I am having a problem. The work is not hard but I do like people who just get in and do it rather than people who take as much time as they can to do one small job. You will also be required to help clean the kitchen after our evening meal. I am happy to work either on a full board and food basis or on a board only basis.

    I try to be as eco friendly as possible ie, low water use, electricity, composting etc.

    My children are now all working and living elsewhere. One generally comes home to stay the night once a week.

    I take helpers for 1 week and then we go from there. Sometimes I can extend that and sometimes I can't. If you are doing a full board and food "package) I will ask you to work 25 hours over the week, generally doing a whole day of work in order to give you whole days off to enjoy the sights of Sydney. Your working day is somewhere between 8.30 - 5.30 I generally get you to work 3 x full days and a half /part day so you can get 3 x full days off which means that you can do more with those days than you otherwise could. It will also save you more money as you are not paying for travel on those days.

    If you are doing a board only "package" I will ask you to help 14 hours over the week.

    Before you arrive I will tell you which days I will need you to help so you can look at information on Sydney, particularly if the day after you arrive is a day off. I have lots of tourist information here. Your work days depend on what is happening here at the time. The days I have asked you to work may need to change occasionally. When we talk about days I am happy for you to have a say in this if you are trying to sell a car, buy one, looking for a job or have an appointment. If I am allowing you time off to do these things, you will need to repay that time to me.

    You may be required to work on a Saturday or Sunday if that is a good day for me although I do try to give helpers Sunday off as travel with an opal card all over the entire Sydney network is much cheaper that day - on all modes of transport. This includes travel up to Newcastle, down to Wollongong and west to Katoomba (or even Lithgow) (Blue Mountains). As Sunday is often a good day for me if you are going to sit around the house that day and not go out and make use of this cheap fare then I will ask you to work that day and give you another day off.

    Although I can do vegetarian/vegan you may have to excuse me eating meat, You will need to remind me that you are vegetarian or vegan before you arrive.

    We are a shoe free household - this includes thongs (flip flops). If you need house shoes I can lend you some clean, washed, ones.

    Please give me the dates you would like to come in the first line of your request. like to come in the first line of your request.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room. If you are 2 or 3 singles I may be able to offer separate rooms at different times. Same with bathrooms. Your group will need to share a bathroom and sometimes you will need to share with others and sometimes not.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to do in Sydney and surrounds. It is about 2 hours by train to the Blue Mountains. Public transport is available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    unlimited wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 478985891963