updated  

Home projects, natural building, gardening and animal care in Molkom, Sweden

  • Favourited 262 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! Steffi here.
    Now I'm managing Workaway for my dad Rüdiger/Rüdi. Before there was work at our place too but now it is rented out and all the projects at our place are paused : )

    My dad prefers people with knowledge of German or Swedish because it makes it easier to communicate, as he hardly knows any English. On the other hand, he is very good at explaining things with his hands and feet : )

    You need to be a handy person. It's more fun for both of you.

    My dad lives in the Swedish countryside surrounded by forest and with a lake near by and a river flowing alongside his property. It's a really beautiful spot and it feels a bit like vacation every day : ) There are hiking trails nearby. Canoeing, fishing and bathing in the lake are other activities you could do in your free time. Cycling too. Or ice-skating, skiing and ice-bathing in wintertime. Ängsbacka is nearby if you are interested in personal and spiritual growth.

    In 2019 my father moved to Sweden. His house is build 1860 and is still under reconstruction right now. That is where the most work is and mainly why we are here on workaway.

    Our property is 3km from my dads and you can get there by bike or walking. There are a mainhouse and an annex on our property. The mainhouse is rented out to an other family since the beginning of September because me and my children moved to a town further away. My ex-partner and best friend Sven stays at our property and moved out to the annex, a little tiny-house-style-flat and still a building place. Me and my children will be home in the weekends sometimes and living in the annex during our stay. We still have access to the basement in the mainhouse and can use the laundry room, the shower, the sauna, the toilet and the internet. And you can do that too.

    You will meet sheep at my fathers place and at our place are a cat, a dog and chickens around.

    My dad is a retired and busy with building, animal care and gardening. I worked as a teacher in afternoon school at Backa freeschool (a holistic school for a sustainable life, backafriskola.se) that I started together with a group of other women in 2015. But I quite because we moved. Back in Germany I worked as an architect. Sven works still as an architect and started his own business in Sweden. He also offers carpentry services through his company.

    My dad like outdoor-life / outdoor-survival and hiking. He likes to built things, create things, calculate things. He started with some gardening at his place. He knows a lot about nature, birds, trees, plants in general, mushrooms.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to share all our experience with you. Just show/say what you are interested in. Making fire with a bow. Learning about nature. Ice-bathing. Building. Living in Sweden. Being at Ängsbacka and part of the extended community. Crafting. Taking care of children. And animals. Baking bread. Making soap and ointment. Felting. You could develop your canoeing skills and discover the Swedish landscape.

  • Help

    Help

    I just put a check mark on all the things he would appreciate help with. It doesn't mean that you have to do all that and it doesn't mean that there is always help needed with all the tasks.

    The main task is building. Helping at my fathers place with finishing the last things inside and around the house. Complete the facade. Paint with eco-color. Setting up a staircase. Finishing the small roofs at the entrances. There are endless tasks with building : ) Sometimes help with gardening and taking care of the animals becomes more important though.

    It's 25 working hours per week. 5 hours a day, 9am to 3pm with one hour lunch break. It is possible to change days if this suits his/your plans better. It's possible to work more some days and get an extra day off or to reduce the amount of hours and work more days a week. We want to take your needs into consideration and make your stay as pleasant as possible.

    Bring work clothes or clothes that can get dirty. Work gloves are available here.

    Usually one day a week is your cooking day, where you prepare dinner. If you love cooking a lot, my dad and my partner are more than happy if you want to cook more than once : )
    A neighborly cooperation and community around the evening meal has been established in summertime when the neighbor visits Sweden. Sometimes my father cooks for everyone, sometimes my partner and sometimes the neighbor : )

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My father lives in a tiny house and nearly of grid. There is a compost toilette, a shower in the kitchen (not working yet), no internet and a thin mobile phone connection. So to have access to the world you would need to take the bike to our place. Same when you need a shower. At his place Its very simple living but surely a great experience : )
    Your room is upstairs under the roof of the house. It's not insulated but furnished with a warm and cosy double bed. You get there with a ladder. Maybe he will put up the tepee in summer if you are interested in experiencing this option : )

    Please ask about the accommodation if you have questions or are feeling insecure.

    By agreement you have the opportunity to use the sauna at our property, canoe, printer, a bike, create in the workshop space and much more.

    We are non-smokers and wish to smoke away from the plot if you need to smoke. Its not allowed indoors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a shop in Molkom, nearby in Tidafors is a great second hand shop and there is one in Molkom too, in Karlstad you can find a lot of possibilities for activities, events, shopping, museum, galleries, restaurants. 6 km from my fathers spot is a bus station where the bus to Molkom/Karlstad in one direction and to Filipstad in the other direction is passing. In Molkom you have the possibility to catch two more busses. And from Karlstad you can get everywhere by bus, train, flight.

    We will be happy to pick you up from Molkom. The bus stop is called Molkom Graninge. From Karlstad, bus 400 (final destination Filipstad), bus 401 (final destination Molkom) and bus 300 (final destination Hagfors) go to Molkom. The bus station in Karlstad is diagonally opposite the railway station. At the railway station there is also a bus stop where at least one of these busses pass. You can plan your buss travel on varmlandstrafik.se (sorry, just swedish).

    Your travel by train you can plan on sj.se/en (english version).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Please ask about it. So that we together can check if our possibilities fits for your kind of work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Please ask about it. So that we together can check if our possibilities fits for you.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Depends on the pet. Just ask.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 557823253512

Feedback (21)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.9)


























Help my family with gardening and renovation projects in Varberg, Sweden
Help us with the dogs in Jämtland, Sweden