Nanny at an organic, community market garden! Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fine folks!

    We are a family of farmers and foragers who run a market garden that offers Certified Naturally Grown veggies. We are at three farmers markets each week, we provide our vegetables wholesale to local restaurants and we have a CSA program of around 30 people. Needless to say...we are busy!

    We work cooperatively with Headwaters Farm on their property and lease a few acres from them! We also work communally and share spaces such as the kitchen/laundry room so we are like an extended family!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By being apart of this experience you will see how a community farm operates and how living close to the land provides plenty of simple pleasures that last a lifetime in your soul. Our farm has lots of international woofers coming through so lots of new friends are made and you will see how to grow your own veggies/take care of animals for you to apply to your own little homestead back home! English is the dominant language that we all speak so we would need someone who can speak fluent english!

  • Help

    Help

    What we need help with:

    Childcare/mentorship.....
    We have a son, Cypress, who is going to be around 1 years old come farm season this year. We do not need help with him until July (if you can come earlier than that it's welcome too) but we are busy right up until the end of September (if you can stay longer than that it's welcome too). Our farming days are Tuesday-Saturdays...but I have family in the area who also step in a few hours/week so the childcare hours are not full-time from Tuesday-Saturdays. We would ask that you stay around the farm area with Cypress so that he can still be apart of our family business and be outside with us! We can provide you with ideas for activities to do with him but we would also love help from your end. We are inspired by the Montessori and Waldorf schooling...along with "The Art of Mentoring" style teachings where nature is the teacher and you are the guide. Cypress being 1 years old will need to be watched extra careful around the farm as their are small objects that he will want to experiment with in his mouth. Weekly activities with Cypress can include: walks around the property and a bit of the forest, playdates at the farm or off, walks downtown Cobourg/Port Hope, visits to the beach in Cobourg, farming/picking vegetables with the farm crew, feeding the animals, yoga, runs with him in the stroller, reading books to him, researching fun activities for his age to create new adventures together, etc. Note that I still will be breast-feeding a bit around this time so he will still want to see me every few hours for milk but besides that he is in the process of eating and experiencing new foods!

    Cooking...
    We are on a community farm and we have dinners from Mondays-Fridays as a gang. We would need your help making dinners for 8-12 people sometimes! This would involve you meal planning and letting the owners of the Farm or us know what groceries are needed for the week! Dinner is around 7pm (you would want to start preparing food around 5:30pm)...we all eat together and clean up together. You may not need to make dinner all 5 nights of the week since we have a lot of folks on the farm who love sharing their passion for food so their is potential for nights off or for an extra hand in the kitchen! The menu should consist of vegetables that are growing in our gardens, the wild edibles from the land, along with a meat option. We like to do 1 night vegetarian only, and the remainder a selection of meats (chicken, fish, pork) so experience with cooking meat is helpful! Allow yourself to get creative in the kitchen! We ask that you base your menu on vegetables that are abundant during that time!

    Food Prep/Preserving...
    At certain harvest times we have an abundance of produce that we either can't sell or can't eat when it is fresh so we need to preserve it (either canning or freezing the item). This isn't a set or consistent moment but we would like to set aside at least one full morning or afternoon each week to focus on this...if there is a lot than we can gather up a few more folks to help with the work! Or if no one is able to help than you may need to spend around 5 hours working on this!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In a trailer beside the farm house which is where the farm workers and animal caretakers stay! There is a shared kitchen where you will eat breakfast/lunch at most days and than dinners are at the Farm family home on the same property from Tuesday’s-Saturday’s

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cobourg, Port Hope and Peterborough are the local places to check out! Lots of events go on in the summer so their is always something to do! There are beaches in Cobourg/Peterborough...Cobourg is biking distance and Peterborough you could join the gang when they go to the farmers market there on Saturdays!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25 hours/week)


Host ref number: 498176693966