Experience the Yukon, bigger that life, with a bilingual Homeschooling family, Canada



Favourited 61 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Update 8/14: the Gluten Free bakery is running, and I fund that I need more help with the house and kids than the baking. It take a lot out of me to teach and it slow down the process.
    We eat very little grain all together at this time, (Laurick has a hard time to tolerate it and can't resist if we eat it around him which make him sick, Lianna is still sensitive to it as well but to a lower level)

    Update: The trampoline have been set and we are waiting for the small bakery to be finish to start cooking.

    Hi, I'm Isabelle,
    I'm mother to a son, Laurick (9yo) and daughter Lianna (5yo). We use French and English at home, Lianna understand German.

    We are a homeschooling family and I am self employed developing a gluten free bakery on a part time basis.
    Laurick is an outgoing, thoughtful, creative and caring young boy with food allergies that affect his skin, and challenge is emotional management and sleep pastern. Though his healing journey is going well and he is doing great. He like to learn about emergency services, to dress up in first responders and is involve in a theater club, has interest in costume design, construction as well as archery, rock climbing, judo and gymnastic when his heath is not bothering him.
    Lianna is slightly more reserve at first contact, she is independent, creative and a natural problem solver. She learned German with her friend's grand mother during play dates over the past few summer, she like painting, crafting as well as gymnastic and rock climbing.

    We live in the most beautiful small town of Carcross, with less than 5oo inhabitants in the middle of wilderness. We are living in a family house. We are in the village center and library, nurse station, convenience store are at walking distance as well as summer touristic business (coffee shop, bakery, art shop...), mountain bike trails, beach. Activities shush as rock climbing, archery (winter), pottery, sewing club, swimming pool are available weekly for free or at low cost in the community.

    We regularly go to Whitehorse for shopping, grocery and kids activities. Come and have a taste of a grocery shopping day, it often turn out to be an adventure of its own.

    I am developing a small Gluten-free bakery with focus on special need diets. At the moment we are getting ready to set up the bakery and will be opening soon. But I still have some experimentation with new recipes going on.
    Note that our house is gluten-free for health concern and product made of wheat, rye, barley, malt like bread and flours are NOT to be brought in the house. But if you need to get some well loved bread the restaurant at the gas station is open year round. The most lovely coffee shop will re-open 5 days a week starting mid-Feb where you can get fresh bake pastry (gluten full or free) and perfect coffee. It's my personal favorite spot in Carcross.

    I would need help with the kids and maintaining the house hold. I'm looking for enthusiastic helper comfortable with free range kids and a peaceful parenting style. Also willing to get a in family immersion setting, with out going children.
    Our homeschooling approach is oriented on children interests and very flexible and hand on. So if you have skill to share that get the kids curiosity and interested we are on. We have the support of a qualified distributed learning school and teacher who take care of evaluations and meet with my child on a weekly basis via Skype.

    As other projects to come with the warm season, I would like to set up a pop-up green house and have some gardening done in the yard. If you have gardening skill to share that could be great, as I am at the try and mistakes learning step. I also plan to set up a trampoline for the kids as soon as the snow melt away.

    *️️️️*️️️️Please mention gluten-free in your email title to confirm you read and understand our food limitation*️️️️*️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from a family life immersion, participating in our daily life, see what it is to live in community. You can use this opportunity to improve both French and English. If you are up to read aloud you will find interested listener, some time siting, some time passing in front of you. Laurick also like to help with pronunciation and translation when requested by the reader.

    You will have the opportunity to learn about Canadian northern culture, participate in community events or in local First Nation work shop, such as beading, art, etc. We made a drum last summer during one of the work shop, it was great. there is also a carving shed in the village where First Nation totem pole are carve.

    You can enjoy our great outdoor, mountain trail and fresh air. there is possibility to get in touch with dog mushers, see northern lights,
    During the good season there is also possibility of some road trip, Skagway, Alaska; Atlin, BC; Marsh Lake are on my wish list for the coming summer. Or you can meet with other around and co-ride to Dawson and other northern road trip for a few days.

  • Help


    I would appreciate help with the kids, maintaining the house hold and any other project we can agree on.
    I wish you sill be a support and reduce my work load in the house. We can share cooking if you are comfortable doing it within our diet restriction, clean-up and when possible organizing craft supplies, and storage could be on the list.
    Though my oldest can walk to some local activity on his own, adult companion is require for some like archery, We also got to Whitehorse for activities and Lianna like to stay home or do fun stuff when she doesn't have her own activity.
    I am hoping that you can go to some activity or stay home will Lianna on some town days. We are set to go to town (Whitehorse) Wednesdays and Fridays until early June.

    Expect to be ask to play with playmobiles, Lego and dolls. My kids like to make up stories and role play with those toy best. They will also like to be active and go out to play with you.

    I'm cooking for the business mostly Monday to Wednesday (haha! by now it's more like all over the place), will definitively need your help on those days.

    Other than that you will be welcome to share skill and follow your interest, or offer small learning project to the kids, such as art, craft, or gardening and yard maintenance, or sports and outdoor. If you are willing to give a hand with un-cluttering the house, it's up to you.

    If you like to learn about gluten free baking it is also possible, for that's all we cook.
    So there is room and flexibility for you to help in areas of your interests.

    It is understood that you come in as a second adult to rely on.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are living in a single house. We have all the modern commodity, but the water supply is limited as we are on water delivery and we are mindful of our water consumption.

    Your bed is a comfy mattress on the floor in the library room. It is relatively small, and have a closet with hanger and shelves for storage or your belonging.

    You will be immerse in the family life and we will share the house. We have internet access in the house and the library also offer internet services during it's opening hours.

    Be aware! We are in the process of uncluttered the house, and it seem to be never ending.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lot to do in Carcross.
    The great out door is right there when you step out of the house. You can get on hiking, beach, walking in the dunes, pottery, sewing (year round)
    Cross-country trails, rock climbing, archery (winter)
    Biking (Montana Mountain trail) hiking, canoeing, train/bus ride to Skagway (summer)
    First Nation art and craft work shops whenever it is offer.

    Flying directly to the Yukon may be expensive, but keep in mind that you can fly to a southern city and then bus ride with Greyhound Canada (student fare available) or even co-ride.
    Because of the kids and the distance to town (75km or 45 min drive) it is much easier for me to pick you up between noon and 7 pm. You may plan for night and/or morning in town if you take a fly or rode outside of this time. There is Hostel in Whitehorse that are not to expensive and place to go. I can direct you if you need :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 551996369116