Help out with some DIY and gardening and enjoy the countryside near Nagyszakásci, Hungary




Favourited 38 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Hello, nice that you are going to read my profile. Feel free to ask questions. You're welcome! First I tell you something about myself

    I emigrated from the Netherlands to Hungary. I live in a probably 100-year-old mud house with 60 cm thick walls. I love the outdoors and I have a good workplace with tools. Together with the three cats and a sweet, quiet, human-friendly dog Evá (Berner Senne), I enjoy living here in the countryside. I like to cook and do odd jobs and gardening in my vegetable garden. I live remote in the village of Nagyszakácsi in the province of Somogy. There are medium size cities in the vicinity. Lake Balaton is less than 30 km away. Budapest at 180 km from here. I like to visit (junk) markets in the area. On Sunday morning I often visit the market in Nagyzakanisza. Usually I eat the delicious Hungarian sausage there. Will you come with me? I like to learn something new and I also like to share experiences and knowledge with others. Doing something new is a challenge for me. This year I want to make a garden house with a clay oven under the walnut trees. Will you come and help me? I live here to get to know other people. Before I came to live in this area I visited many countries in the immediate area such as; Croatia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. I'm a traveler.. You can take the train from Budapest to Balatonszentgyörgy. A beautiful ride right along Lake Balaton. I'll get you off the train in Balatonszentgyörgy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You learn something from the culture and customs of Hungary. In addition to odd jobs, trips in the area and Lake Balaton, Pecs, Kaposvár, market Nagykanisza etc., together or by yourself.

  • Help


    I would like help this year to leran better speak Hungarian, with placing a garden house, taking care of animals (chickens), and other common activities. Furthermore, chopping wood for the winter, and many more nice jobs that we come up with together. The garden House is ready. See photo.
    In 2022 I want to install a pump in the well and lay a pipe to the vegetable garden and the water tanks in the vegetable garden. If there is enough time, make an outdoor oven for pizza and bread baking. In 2022 the nice gardenhouse is ready. There is place for two to sleep when You stay here!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate
    Hungarian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to speak better Magyarrul!! Melyik magyar taníthat meg magyarul jobban beszélni az idén?

  • Accommodation


    Small farm. Sleeping place for 2 people in caravan or in the new gardenhouse. Eat every day. Often typical Hungarian dishes such as Hungarian pörkölt. Regularly authentic Hungarian kettle cooking. Or if you like it, your favorite dish, made on request or made by yourself. Enough space for tents and camper, car and caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are 2 cars here. It is possible to explore together the surrounding area and visit cities at a reasonable distance such as Kaposvár, Keszthely and the area Balaton. There are also bicycles for use. There is a fire pit for campfire.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have here good working Internet with WIFI

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 548377112155