Help us create a butterfly and wildlife garden and sanctuary in this 1940s arts and crafts home in Tryon, NC

Country

United States

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Eric and John (and Duke!)

    We have hosted workawayers for several years now and have done some fun and creative projects (labyrinth, trails, landscaping, creating a meditation studio and have had only wonderful times.)

    Alas we sold that wonderful home and have moved to the village on Tryon, where we found a wonderful old arts and crafts cottage. We are gradually reclaiming the land from the invasive world around us. So far we have Ellie’s hosta garden, Junie’s tomato garden, new raised beds and a tiny pond, and more tropicals than we should have considered.

    We are on ridge and have four acres to discover. We found the old well, the deer trail, steps leading somewhere, and uncovered stone walkways stoops and patios. Every project is an adventure. Marshall is sure we will find a pool, tho....we would be just as happy creating a koi pond and some fountains. Eric wants to bring his acupuncture practice home, so we are thinking of a yurt, which would be great for meditation and yoga retreats.

    We are about 40 minutes from Asheville, NC and the same to Greenville, SC. Tryon is a great small village with much more than you would imagine, including lots of nearby hiking.

    Eric practices Acupuncture and herbology in Greenville, as well as teaching Massage. He practices Salsa and Tai Chi. John is a recovering business exec, who spends time on a couple of non profit boards and working on the future.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We want workawayers staying with us to be members of our family while staying here, and we have certainly been fortunate in our experiences so far having hosted people from Europe, Asia and the US. We are not tech oriented, prefering conversation and reading to movies and phones. We think that folks visiting us here in Tryon will find a small town reminiscent of time past.

    Also, Eric loves to speak spanish and will teach anyone salsa.

    And, anyone staying with us will benefit from time with our wonderful Boston Terrier, Duke.

  • Help

    Help

    Our home is on a wild four acres that is need a lot of love and attention. Additionally, we will have projects including creating pathways and water features. As well, we are always interested in and encourage ideas from our workaways and guests for new projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with a full fold out sofa and excellent mattress topper and private bath. We often sleep with the windows open and listen to the world of nature. We have a great meditation/yoga space also and lots of outdoor spaces to enjoy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of natural beauty in this area, some great hiking in the mountains with the Green River Gorge nearby. This is a must see.

    Tryon is a great small town with a private library, little movie theater, restaurants and a fine art center. Asheville and Greenville are both great places within an hour to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    possible campervan, not motorhomes.....

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 548338488567