Come to our farm and learn more about different cultures! In Chaplin, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/12/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me and my husband and daughter of over a year old live on a farm in Saskatchewan. We are currently in the proses of buying sheep to raise on our farm. We immigrated from South Africa about 3 years ago. We are people that love to socialize, barbecue, and to meet new people from different cultures as we are also from another Country originally. We love the country style of living and being part of nature. My husband is also a hunter comes hunting season. I myself love riding horse and working and training my own horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Afrikaans and English in our home so she or he will learn both cultural differences. We will introduce them to our neighbors and friends and hopefully become part of our family.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always work on a farm. Clearing fallen trees, chopping wood for the fire place.
    Mowing grass and brush, feeding animals to painting buildings and keeping the yard neat and tidy.
    We are hoping to purchase sheep come next year so sheep working will also be part off the day to day chores.
    Keeping your own room tidy will be upon yourself. So if you love horses, dogs, sheep and wildlife this is the place to be.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room that he or she can choose. Either spear room upstairs or down in the basement. It’s all up to the individual. All meals will be included and when ever you are hungry the fridge will be much yours as it is ours.
    You will NOT have to buy anything. We do however eat meat so someone that doesn’t eat meat will have a very hard time staying with us as it is our main staple off food on our plate😅.
    So meat eaters heads up you would love it here. We will also grow our own veggies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    O there is much to see and places to go. We are not far from the Rocky’s and the United States so he or she can hop in a vehicle and go sight seeing when ever they have their time off. When there is a rodeo on they can go and meet some new people and learn how to be a cowgirl or boy. When chores are done or if it’s their time off they can take the vehicle and go to town for shopping or whatever they want. This is NOT a work all the time house! We do not expect anyone to work on a Sunday either, but if animals need feeding that would be all on the list for that day. The main purpose is some work in return for a bed, food, and funnnnn!😃

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 544395452945