Help a family with a community lifestyle and help with growing organic vegetables in Aquitaine, France



Favourited 946 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    A family with a community life-style in SW France ( Dordogne ), 2 minutes walk away from the beautiful river Dronne, one of the cleanest rivers in France. The people who are at the property on a permanent basis are Erick and his soon to be wife Sandrine. Erick's 2 daughters live in Bordeaux so they're rarely here but come and go during holidays. We've got cats and dogs, but we're preparing to get a few more animals; namely ducks and maybe eventually a pig.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What is more valuable than friendship?

  • Help


    Basically, we need a lot of help volunteering in the organic garden and the greenhouse, we also share the daily chores (especially when there are a lot of us!), however there is always a lot of different stuff that needs doing depending on the season: collecting and chopping wood, restoring buildings, making fences etc.
    Erick and his siblings are French so you will definitely have the opportunity to improve your french!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, German and some italian

  • Accommodation


    A stone house for the family with one little emergency bedroom (currently being renovated).
    A dormitory with two double bedrooms and a single one. We also have a dry toilet and we use water from the well on the property.
    We bake fresh bread in the outdoor clay oven.
    We also have a a lot of books in our library with a variety of books including french, english, german and spanish novels.
    Once the main house is completely refurbished there will be a grand piano and pianists are welcome.
    Sandrine is a healer and a Reiki master, she likes to share her passions and skills.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    One of the main things we want to focus on in 2019 is restoring some of the buildings and stuctures on the property as well as potentialy building a few more, so anyone with experience or even just enthousiasme in this area will be especially welcome.
    For the time being we cannot accomodate families and we accept max 2 volunteers at the same time. Spring and summer are always very busy and a lot of people pop by (mostly former volunteers/friends).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Host ref number: 5437188124ca