Looking for talented travellers, specifically artists, handyworkers, to help transform this hostel into an iconic, homey space, Palma, Mallorca.

Country

Spain

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/03/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    I'm Miguel !
    A year ago my wife and I started a small guesthouse. We transformed an old bar on the ground floor, into a small familly hostal. I have since added a small apartment next door.
    I am looking for talented travellers, specifically artists, handyworkers, to help transform this hostel into an iconic, homey space.
    There will be a varity of tasks to do.  I want art on the walls, furniture, and in the garden.(patio) I need to make general household repairs such as painting and fixing doors.
    I would also like help running the hostel/guesthouse. This includes welcoming and checking in guest, Managing when I go out of town, if that is somehting you can handle. There are not many guest at the moment, but one never knows.
    You'll be made to feel very welcome and a part of our family which includes our housekeeper, two older sons and 3 small children. If you are a social person who likes to have fun in a family enviorment than this is your place.
    I suggest that volunteers come for one week at first , the if it all works out we can negotiate the duration of the stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In return for your work, we offer:

    we provide an assistment in your first day in Palma de Mallorca
    FREE accommodation in a cosy dorm room
    FREE Breakfast each day and lunch/dinner
    FREE Wi-Fi
    DAY-OFF : 2 Days a week (flexible)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Expectations:
    This is work-exchange, not a paid position
    Hours expected maximum 4 hours a day of productive work 5 days a week, the rest of the times is yours.
    We will agree on the schedule in advance.
    painting
    General maintenance
    Othes day duties
    You need to be up and ready to help by 10 AM
    Ability to work with others
    Ability to preform a varity of work. We cannot offer "positions" exclusively focusing on one task. - we simply do not enough room for that.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish English, others

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The apartment consists of 7 rooms. It depends on the number of volunteers, you may be alone or have to share the room with more colleagues.
    Also you need to keep your space clean and clean up after yourself in the shared rooms (kitchen, bathroom). Cleaning up after yourself is not counted in your volunteering work hours:)
    We provide food to have a nice breakfast,lunch or dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities
    You can learn about our way of life, try our foods and participate in our culture. This is an island with so much to offer. A beautiful place with a diverse landscape of historic buildings that date back to the middle ages, mountians, harbors and beaches. We in the centre of the major city, Palma de Mallorca, close to landmarks, bus stops and supermarkets.
    My native language is Spanish and my english is good. My wife and I lived in Philaphia, USA for 7 years. Travellers who want to expand their language ability can benifit from that.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4

Host ref number: 542131333114