Experience the beauty of the country side in northern Sardinia, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 1497 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1254

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to Martis, a tiny and lovely village in the northern part of Sardinia!

    We are Giovanni, Sara, Jason, Perma, Giulia and Lorenzo. Giovanni moved to Martis in 2013 from Toscany, Sara in 2015 from Brescia, Jason in 2017 from England, Perma in 2018 from Denmark, Giulia and Lorenzo moved in 2018 to a nice house in the countryside close to Martis.
    We moved here with the goal to repopulate the village. Today, in Martis lives just 450 people, of whom most are old, as young people are leaving. This leads to many abandoned houses and lands that can be recovered and restored. Since the project started, we have been lucky to meet many new people and share great experiences. We live a simple but good life, and we are happy to welcome people from near and far to our home. We have our own project, but we also try to contribute to Martis community, and we have an amazing relationship with local people. It is important for us that people who visit us share and interact with local people. We are also part of a committee that defends biodiversity and saves old local grains, vegetables, and fruits in this amazing area of Sardinia. Sara organizes permaculture courses, in Martis and all around Sardinia, and she is part of RIVE (Italian Networks of Eco-Villages).

    Workwise the job is very variable, and the daily work depends on the season and on the weather.

    - One part of the job takes place in the countryside where we practice biodynamic agricolture, growing the food for the house (we have a vegetarian diet), making wine olive oil. We always need people that know a bit about gardening. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ From October to December we are looking for many volunteers to help us pick the olives. This period we work a lot, so apply only if you are really motivated!

    - Another part of the project is take care, cleaning and RESTORATION of the old house where we live. The house is more than 100 years old, totally made of stone, and needs a lot of love. For these types of jobs we need people familiar with carpeting, plumbing, painting, plastering etc.

    As you can tell there's always a lot to do here! We are looking for happy and respectful people that want to help us in this beautiful project. As there are so many things to learn, we need people that can stay with us for minimum three weeks. Volunteers with different skills, who are flexible, clean, open minded, enthusiastic and who loves nature and people, are always welcome in our home!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As you take part on our everyday life you can learn about:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ biodynamic agriculture
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ baking bread, prepare pasta, pizza
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Italian and Sardinian language
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Italian and Sardinian cooking
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ permaculture
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ recognize and cooks edible wild herbs
    *️️️️️️ Chicken care

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to receive people interested in anthroposophy and biodynamic agricolture, that want to share experiences and community life. We are looking for volunteers that want to experience countryside life, sustainable, that want to eat seasonal fruit, take care of animals, that prefers to pick wild herbs that go to supermarket, that want to come in Sardinia for learn about plants and olive trees and not for go to the beach and drink beer. We like to host people responsible, respectful and helpful, that want to live in the Nature with spirituality and with pratical sense.

    We love animals but we have already too much cats and dogs here! We are sorry but we don't host travelers with pets!

    The type of help required depends on the season and on the weather. Here some examples what we usually do:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Keep the house clean and confortable (All DAY!!)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Planting and cultivating fruits, vegetables and medicinal herbs (All year)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Cultivating and cleaning olive trees, picking olives (All year, more concentrated October - December)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Taking care of and cleaning vineyards, picking grapes and wine making (September - October)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Making home made pasta, bread, and pizza (All year)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Experimenting with, and studying biodynamic agriculture (All year)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Doing carpentry tasks in and around the house or in the countryside (All year)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Maintaining the tools (All year)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Cutting fire wood (September - April)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Taking care of the cats and dogs
    *️️️️️️ Taking care of our lovely chicken and goose

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers are hosted in Giovanni's house (in the historical center of Martis in the province of Sassari in Sardegna). where they live with Giovanni, 2 dogs, 3 cats, and the other volounteers. The sleeping area is in the volunteer room where maximum 4 people live together. The house also has one guest room that we rent, and one big kitchen where we socialize and share meals. You are free to use all the common areas like the living room, kitchen and bathroom.

    Almost all food we eat is biodynamic or organic and come from our garden or from local organic producer. We try to produce our food as much, apart from rice, coffee, tea, sugar and other kinds of food that's no possible to produce in Sardinia. We appreciate hosting people who are happy to eat seasonal food, coming from our garden or the wild.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Around Martis there are a lot of cultural sights, beautiful nature for trekking and (not so far away) amazing beaches. There is also a nice Waterfall reachable by a walking, which is always worth a visit. The public bus can take you from Martis to Sassari, Alghero, and Castelsardo.

    But to reach more places it's better to have a car. In any case, is Martis a good starting point for exploring North Sardinia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




























Host ref number: 541778288325