Help out in an easy going and small family and go surfing in your free time, It's fun in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 1048 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me and Nils moved 2002 to Portugal. We have two lovely children born in 2008 and 2005. We are happy people who enjoy life but also work hard. We are not alone.....with us are Jan and Jörn. Two brothers from Berlin which we know already since kindergarden times. Jörn is now moving up and down to Berlin once in a while, but often he is here together with his girlfriend Iris and there lovely son born 2016. They are a part of our familiy. The newest member is Gina. She started as a workawayer in 2013, but now she constantly lives with us. As well as Julia. She is with us since 2018.
    We do all kind of things. We have our biological gardens, we have two caravans, a tipi and a little house to rent. Mostly to young, relaxed families with children.(let´s hope it will stay that way:) ) I give horse riding lessons and Nils (during summer) is almost every day at the beach giving surf lessons. So in a way we need help in lot´s of differen things.
    We prefer longer stays than shorter ones. After one or two weeks you just starting to get to know each other, and sometimes (most of the times) it is a shame people have to leave. So i suggest a minimun of three weeks. For you it is also nicer i think. This way you have so much more the chance to come around (wih us, such as markets, different beaches etc,) .

    For the winter month coming up now, we are looking for one or two people who would look after themselfs. Like cooking etc. We offer a full equiped caravan for two hours of work, 5 days a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We always have a lot of different people with all kinds of backrounds at our place. Understanding, patience and respect is necessary to get along with each other. It is ok to disagree sometimes on things. If you stay long enough you will see more from Portugal. Travelling to one or the other beach and markets will bring Portugal closer to you.
    Our farm life is very wide ranged......renting , farming, animals, guetst, children, vegetable gardens, events. If you want to can take whole lots of new ideas home of how life can be lived.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    During holiday season we need help with our holiday project plus keep the farm running and prepare for winter and land maintenance. I need people who are able to keep my back free. Interacting with guests ,cooking , cleaning, doing the wash, folding, keeping the terrace in nice shape so everyone feels welcome. I am always happy about self organizing skills and being able to overview whats to do . I also need some help giving riding lessons for kids and walking with them throught the forest, plus animal care.
    In spring and autmn we need people helping on the land. We do have guests until the end of Oktober.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Dutch: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you a caravan or a nice tent with matrazzes to stay in. We organized this year a nice workawayer village:) withan own little kitchen. (to make coffe and for breakfast) More freedom for everyone.! Over winter when our little summer house is free from guest we also accomodate people in there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nils goes often to the beach to surf. You are more than welcome to join him.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.0)













Host ref number: 539945579843