Experience Ranch Life in the Cariboo region of British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2018

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    Our ranch is located in The beautiful Cariboo region of British Columbia, Canada. This is approximately 6 hours drive north of Vancouver. We are 4kms off the highway but surrounded by public lands with forest and trails. There is much opportunity to enjoy the peace and beauty of the Canadian wilderness.

    We raise purebred cattle for breeding stock as well as some horses, goats and pigs. We are looking for help handling these animals and maintaining our small family and farm. Much of our lives is spent outdoors working with animals, playing with children and generally enjoying the fresh air. We hope to find someone who is looking for this same kind of lifestyle. We do not live near town but I am happy to bring visitors into town when we go for supplies or groceries.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We need assistance with the day to day workings of the small family farm. This includes help with both the animals and the kids :) They are 2.5 yrs and a newborn that will arrive late June/July. There are times that we will be away in town or visiting relatives, especially with the baby arriving, so would prefer someone who is confident, self reliant and comfortable being alone on the ranch for periods of time. If we are away, I am always available by phone or email so no special skills/knowledge are required but common sense is a must.
    Friends or a couple would be a great fit since you would always have someone else to work and explore with, although single applications will still be considered. We have neighbours nearby that also have a ranch and workaways so we support eachother and often do activities together.

    There is cow milking, making cheese and butter, support in the home (cooking, cleaning, organizing) and entertaining the kids. Fence and pen building and repair, feeding and caring for livestock. We can help with English practice and would love to learn other languages from you.

    Spring-fall entertainment includes bike riding, swimming, hiking, fishing, canoeing and horseback riding. Winter activities include snowmobiling, ice skating and dog sledding. All year you can explore trails, enjoy a campfire and count stars. We do not have TV, but have lots of reading material!!

    The summer chores are very light as the cows are turned out. Daily checking is required and there are pigs and goats to be fed. Besides some help in the house and playing with the kids, there is lots of time to relax and enjoy beautiful weather and peaceful surroundings including a lovely little lake just outside the house! While winter is pretty quiet, there are many summer social events in nearby towns that we like to attend when we can with our visitors including gymkhanas, rodeos, brandings, farmers markets and harvest fair.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private bedroom and bathroom in our home. This is located on its own floor of the house, separate from the main living and kitchen area and the upper floor where our bedrooms are located. We have internet access for basic usage and occasional skype calls but we are limited.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Greyhound Bus Lines drops off in our nearby town, Lac La Hache and there are daily flights (operated by Pacific Coastal Airlines and Central Mountain Air) into the larger center just north of us, Williams Lake.
    We are a Christian family and attend services weekly. You are more than welcome to attend with us or choose not to participate. We only ask that you respect our practice of saying grace before meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs/week

Canadian geese on the lawn
paddleboarding on a nearby lake
friendly pigs are curious
Spring is the time for babies
Resident bald eagle
a moment of reflection in a hard day of a mini cowboy


Host ref number: 537932821943