Help me at my off-grid place and exchange culture in Onatchiway, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Old forestry village of Onatchiway, I have been living Off grid for the passed 20 years I have a beautiful home with many rooms which used to be an Auberge, I have not operate since 2008. I also have a private little chalet on the lac for a family. Animals welcomed! Lots of work to keep up, but now my health is gone, I need help with the upkeep. The place is located 70km north of Saguenay, Lac Saint-Jean, Quebec, 33km in the forest from the last village of Falardeau, on a beautiful Lake for canoeing, with natural wild life and trails for biking, go camping in the most old mountains the Monts-Valin. Build a fire, play music, lean french. Hear the crickets, feel and live the french culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being off grid demands knowledge of simple necessities and how to manage them. Necessities such as, power, hot water, generators, woods, how to live with what you got and still feel so plenty. There is so many activities, to name just a few: swimming, boating, canoeing, fishing hiking, camping, blueberry piking last but not least RockBand.First time host! I love animals, I got dogs ( pyrenees) and a cat. Yours are welcomed too. Vehicle on site if needed. I have a big library of books and movies, lot of instruments, pool table. Or if you prefer: bird watching, geology, wild mushrooms, wild fruits, berries, medicine plants.

  • Help

    Help

    Maintenance and repairs: buildings, equipments....Upkeep: paint, ,pretty much everything that would go in this category, pill, wood, clean the yard also housecleaning, cooking, laundry, groceries ( in town) vehicle provided. I would like to learn more about vegan meals, food storage, mushrooms...sustainability. Gardening: I have a lot of wild fruits and medicine plants I would like to learn more about. I would love to create a project with you that you have to heart. Their is so many opportunities here. I would greatly appreciate to learn with you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish, German, Mandarin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 private rooms: 2 bedrooms with Queen and single, and one bedroom with king size,and one dorm room with 3 singles. Sheared bathrooms (3), living and eating together, picking up after ourselves in respect for others is greatly appreciated. One chalet with one double, and 3 single.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    First time host! Vehicle on site, quad, boat, canoe, kayak, lots of local history.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Satellite connection, a little slow

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs, cats, birds....

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 535319428476