Come and enjoy a spiritual lifestyle at our organic self-sufficiency farm community in Järna, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an organic ISKCON Hare Krishna farm community in Järna, Södertälje, a bit south of Stockholm. About 65 adults and children live in the forest and we have the oldest cow sanctuary in Sweden. Our village was founded in 1981 and since then we are growing vegetables, fruits, flowers, berries, sometimes grains organically, without any pesticides.

    We live a spiritual lifestyle so we have a large temple where we meet daily or as often as we like, we celebrate festivals according to the ancient vaishnava culture. We also do forestry according to alternative methods that promote diversity of trees in the forest, preserving more valuable trees.
    We use wood for heating in the winter and as building material. We have 5 kinds of cows in our cow sanctuary, 4 of very rare indigenous breeds that are threathened by extinction.

    We are lacto-vegetarian/vegan, smoking/drinking/drugs are not used in our village and we ask our visitors and volunteers to follow our life style etiquette also. We don't sell anything of our produce, it is for self-sufficiency.
    Apart from that, our farm is beautifully situated near the lake Ogan and there's lots of forest around. We're friendly people and it's easy to get to know us. We are also people living here from many different countries and cultures.

    We have lots of experience with having volunteers from other sites. Most of our volunteers in the past have been very happy with their stay here. :-)

    There's a bakery and two small shops in our village plus a second hand shop. They are open just a few times a week. We have our biological sewage system so we need to use soaps, schampoo e t c that are biodegradable. There's no public transport to our village and about 12 km to the Järna. But villagers daily go to different places so it is always possible to arrange something.
    On Sundays we have open house and the whole village plus anyone from outside who wants, come and we have kirtan (singing) together, there are lectures, sometimes we watch a film and then there's a vegetarian lunch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to share our experiences as an old eco village and knowledge about organic gardening and protecting cows. We are also happy to share our life philosophy and anything you think we can help you with.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with gardening and our cows, but if you have any suggestion, it may be possible too.
    We like to share our experiences as an old eco village and knowledge about organic gardening and protecting cows.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a newly renovated guest house. You will stay in your own room with bed and space for belongings. There's a shared washing machine, kitchen, bathrooms, toilets and wifi-connection. No pets, no smoking in the guesthouse (no smoking anywhere on the premises to be precise).

    You will be served vegetarian/vegan food 3 times a day, we eat breakfast and lunch together at 9 and 14.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots of forest around and in the nearest little town there are also many other organic farms, we're 50 minutes by train from Stockholm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 533981231639