Help to renovate a traditional Japanese house in peaceful Hadano city, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 385 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    175

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for workawayers for the first half of September for weeding and other tough but not fun tasks.....

    We are receiving so many request.I really appreciate for your messages!
    But it's getting hard to reply to all of them.
    So please don't feel offended even if you don't get reply.

    ※ I won't answer to copy and paste message. Tell me why you've decided to sent me a message.

    The place: is located in the peaceful Hadano city.(Kanagawa prefecture)
    It was an empty house for 20years,and the garden was a typical Japanese garden.
    It is just 5min by walk from the station.
    You can't smoke inside.
    Now we've got a puppy, so dog lovers are welcome!

    The project: We are taking care of family owned property, it was abandoned for quite a while.
    Then I decided to try what I wanted to do for a long time.
    We are renovating an old Japanese folk house, and establishing a permaculture garden.
    I have few vision about house it self.For example, make it into communal space,guest house,workshop space,and so on.
    Eco friendly is the key,edible garden is the necessary for Diversity Hadano.



    Our self: Rio is 27 years old guy ,who teaches english at my place with my wife and sometime work at outdoor gear store.
    Carrie is 24 years old American girl, who teaches English at kindergartens and online.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is nothing but private project,not a commercial thing at all.

    I learnt about permaculture from local gardeners in New Zealand,I have volunteered and travelled there.

    My aim is to be self sufficient.I also live as much as Eco friendly as possible.

    I play ukulele and percussions,I have a guitar and piano,let's jam!

  • Help

    Help

    Renovating an old Japanese folk house,and establishing a permaculture garden.

    Aplox 25hours a week(4h/a day, 6d/a week or 5h/a day, 5d/a week) We can arrange about the time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A big room divided by partition. Each room can host 2 parsons.
    Workawayers and the host share the house.
    3 meal per day(Mainly Vegetarian meal.tell me if you have special diet),coffee,tea.(Helping to cook is not include the work time)
    Unlimited internet

    You can't smoke inside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Note:If you have no idea what japanese countryside is,here it is.Many mosquito in the garden,snakes,bugs as well.if you cant stand on them,don't come here.(Don't worry,they have no poison!)
    The tasks I expect in 25hour/week is as much as "How much I(Rio) can do for 25hours"
    Which means some workawayers sometime takes more days off because they work faster and harder than expected.
    (it also work for other way unfortunately...)
    I would like the workawayers to be a part of the project,not only volunteer workers.
    As long as you could been a part of this project,we treat you as a friend and a housemate.(I have a lot of amazing workawayers who are still keep in touch with.)

    Not far from Kamakura,Hakone,Yokohama.
    Cool easy trekking is available near by.You might see the monkeys.
    Some of my guest recommend you to visit Odawara.(also not far from here)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Aplox 25hours a week(4h/a day, 6d/a week or 5h/a day, 5d/a week) We can arrange about the time.

Rio and Carrie and Luke
Your room
Cleaning task
Carpentely task
Gardening task
The house.
The renovation is going on....

















Host ref number: 531467147756

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more