Help with different tasks on our off-grid farm south of Whitehorse, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are developing a family farm. We live on a farm property south of Whitehorse, off the grid, just solar power and no running water. We live a simple life style (cabins only), no much modern comfort. You should enjoy physical tasks outside and outdoor activities. We provide accommodation and good homemade food in exchange for 5 hours work on our farm 5 days a week. We have all meals together in our cabin and talk during eating about everything on our farm, projects and share ideas and thoughts. Workawayers become part of our daily live. Activities like canoeing, hiking, fishing and horseback riding are not for granted. It's a bonus for hard working volunteers. To join us on trips is mostly possible, but it's not work, more a benefit during your time off to enjoy the Yukon wilderness and to give you some good experience in addition.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Like the remoteness, simple life with very few modern comfort. Enjoy outdoor activities, such as hiking, fishing, and horseback riding. Learn more about your personal skills and yourself. We use mainly home grown products for all our food and helpers have the opportunity to learn how to cook and to bake beside their chores. Helpers can experience how to manage natural resources (solar power and carrying water out of a creek).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an helper for Spring 2021 (April/May) for picking sticks. To have some experience in gardening, farming and maintenance is helpful but not nessecary. A good work ethic and focus on what needs to be done is way more important. Become part of a project.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You stay in a cabin or tiny house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.5)






Host ref number: 529782118232